top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

August/September Empties 🗑

Tbh, I only emptied a few products in August, but I was about 3/4 done with a lot of products that month, so I figured I would combine August and September. Grab a coffee or some tea and read on!

Skincare

Acure Ultra Hydrating 12 Hour Facial Moisturizer (1 fl oz for 18.99, available at Amazon, Whole Foods)

It's no secret that I'm a superfan of Acure's.... so I had high hopes for this moisturizer. It was definitely not worth it. It's sort of thick but not hydrating... and it takes a while for it to absorb into my skin. I used this as a morning moisturizer, but I had to add a few drops of oil to even get the moisture that my skin is used to in the morning. I much prefer their Cloud Cream. Needless to say, I won't be repurchasing.


Black Girl Sunscreen (3 fl oz for $18.99, available at Black Girl Sunscreen)

Lemme save you some time. I will always repurchase this. I've got 2 backups. One of my favorite sunscreen formulas hands down.


Blume Meltdown Acne Oil Spot Treatment* (1 oz for $45, available at Blume)

I've had this oil for a while now, and used it a lot when I first received it, and then I started getting less and less breakouts so I didn't have a need for it. Honestly, it's a nice oil but I can't remember if it was beneficial for any of my breakouts. Won't repurchase.


Herbal Dynamics Essentials Pure Squalane Oil* (1 oz for $14, available at Herbal Dynamics Beauty)

I LOVED this oil. It's incredibly lightweight, and it works it in all facets of my skincare routine; either a couple of drops in the morning with a tinted moisturizer or foundation, or a couple of drops in the evening with my moisturizer. It's also incredibly affordable, which I didn't realize before, so now I'm definitely inclined to repurchase. Squalane can also be used as a cuticle oil, can be used in your hair, and on dry patches anywhere on your body. We stan a multi-use product!


Kayaire Imported Hydrating Cream Moisturizer* (2 oz for $19.80, available at Kayaire Beauty)

This was suuuuch a sad empty. Spoiler alert: I immediately repurchased when I finished it. This is one of the nicest moisturizers I've ever encountered. It has a lightweight gel/cream hybrid texture, and sinks in almost immediately after I apply it to my face. I say for my drier skin friends, or those who live in places where it's about to get absurdly cold, I would steer clear, since it is a lighter weight cream. You can also add a couple of drops of a thicker oil as an alternative. I know for me, I can definitely use this year round. PSA: Kayaire is black and female owned and all of their products explore the anti-inflammatory properties of CBD.


The Ordinary Marine Hyaluronics (1 oz for $6.80, available at Sephora and Ulta)

I can't remember which of my favorite skinfluencers recommended this, but I bought it with the quickness. For $7, it wasn't considered a splurge, lol. I haven't tried many of The Ordinary's products--I think this is the second one I've ever purchased. It's described as a lightweight serum that "brings together lightweight marine-derived reservoirs that attract and hold water like hyaluronic acid." And brah... it's literally water. I can't really explain it, but I'm not a fan. I would much rather my HA serum be more gel based, like my favorite Inkey List HA, which has the same price point but the results are more noticeable. Will not repurchase.


Origins Out of Trouble 10 Minute Mask (2.5 fl oz for $27, available at Sephora and Ulta)

I've had this mask forever now. I was running up on the 2 year expiration point, so I used it pretty frequently in the last two months. Formulated with zinc and sulphur, this mask promises to control oil, slough off dead skin cells, and sweep away the day's impurities. I actually learned to re-appreciate this product after developing some stubborn maskne a few times after venturing into the outside world. I won't repurchase at the moment, but I will definitely consider it in the future.


Rosen Bright Citrus Serum (1 oz for $18, available at Rosen and Urban Outfitters)

Rosen's Vitamin C is formulated with 20% vitamin c to visibly brighten skin. I really enjoyed this formula, but it has more of a watery texture than a serum texture. I have a few other vitamin C serums that I'm planning on introducing in my rotation, but I would repurchase this in the future. PSA: Rosen is black and female owned, and they have some other bomb ass products that I would definitely recommend like their Break Out spot treatment and their Paloma serum. Go support!


Sunday Riley CEO Glow (0.5 oz for $40, available at Sephora)

I received this in an Allure Beauty Box over a year ago and finally just finished it. There was so much hype around this product when it came out, and then the emails came out about Sunday Riley employees being threatened (?) to write glowing reviews about the products--sum'n like that. Unfortunate because I actually enjoyed this oil. I don't think it's worth the money, but I loved adding a couple of drops to my Fenty foundation on days when I didn't want to look super matte. I don't think it helped in brightening any of my dark spots which is one of it's descriptors, but it definitely left my skin with a healthy looking glow. Won't repurchase, mostly because of the price point.


Supergoop 100% Mineral Matte Screen (1.5 oz for $38, available at Supergoop and Sephora)

I do not trust mineral sunscreens. But Supergoop went and made a mineral sunscreen that I don't hate. It's not perfect in eliminating the gray cast that most mineral sunscreens have, but underneath makeup (which is usually when I tend to wear it) you really can't tell. It really does a great job blurring pores and controlling my shine throughout the day, which is really the only reason I would repurchase it. This is definitely more of a sunscreen that I use in the summer, so I'll wait to repurchase until next season.


Temi Radiance Complexion Mist (2 oz for $20, available at Essentials by Temi)

This was a Brooke Devard (@nakedbeautyplanet) recommendation, and I'm so glad I got to try it for myself. For a while I was running through facial mists; they're scattered all over my room so whenever I would see one I would spritz spritz here, spritz spritz there. I used this as a facial mist, and as a toner, so it's no wonder that I emptied this one so quickly. The Radiance Complexion Mist is specifically for combo/oily skin types, whereas the Soothing Complexion Mist is for sensitive skin types, and the Intense Hydration Complexion Mist is for normal to dry skin types. The key ingredient in the Radiance Complexion Mist is lemongrass, which naturally tones skin and reduces puffiness. Needless to say, I would repurchase in a heartbeat. I can't wait to try some of their oils next. PSA: Essentials by Temi is black and female owned!!


Makeup

Colourpop No Filter Concealer (0.14 oz for $7, available at Ulta and Colourpop)

I feel like I empty one of these per month... and I will always repurchase them. This specific empty was a highlight shade for underneath my eyes.


Too Faced Better Than Sex (0.17 oz for $14, available at Sephora and Ulta)

I used to love this mascara a lot more than I do now, mostly because I've found dupes for way cheaper. These were some free samples that I kept in my makeup bag, and made it a point to use them everyday for about a month just to empty them. I won't repurchase, because like I said, I got dupes.


Thanks for reading! What did you empty this month?



(*PR GIFTED)

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page