top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

Top 5: Black Owned in Makeup

Welcome to the sister post to my Top 5: Black Owned in Skincare. Makeup is my true love, so I definitely have some favorites in mind. There are sooo many new brands that are in the pipeline to try, so I'll definitely have an updated post to this in the future. Curious to know what's on your list of favorite black-owned makeup products 👀... do we have any of the same faves?


Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Instant Retouch Concealer (0.27 oz for $26, available at Fenty Beauty & Sephora)

I've been about this concealer since it dropped last year. I wrote a full blog post back then too, with all the tea. You can read it here. TLDR: She is giving you creamy, long-wearing, medium buildable coverage that does not crease. Just a little bit goes a long way coverage-wise with this baby, which means I just dot on my problem areas, blend, and go. I wear shades 420 and 445, and shade 430 in the Fenty Pro Filt'r Soft Matte Longwear Foundation. Also, does your favorite concealer come in 50 shades? No? I didn't think so.


Fenty Beauty Gloss Bomb in Fenty Glow (0.3 oz for $19, available at Fenty Beauty & Sephora)

Obviously Gloss Bomb is on my list. It's arguably one of the best lip gloss formulas, ever. The perfect amount of shine and shimmer, with no stickiness. It's the best accessory for a full beat, and can add a lil something something on bare-faced days. Fenty Glow is still my favorite of the bunch, followed closely by Hot Chocolit.


UOMA Badass Icon Matte Lipsticks (0.18 oz for $18, available at UOMA Beauty)

I. AM. OBSESSED. WITH. THIS. LIPSTICK. FORMULA. The pigment is insane, the formula is a comfortable matte that barely budges with a full day of eating/drinking/camaraderie. Plus they come in the most beautiful shades that complement ANY skin tone. We love a product that thinks about allllll the skin tones from jump. The shades are all named after badass women in history. My favorite shades are Sade, a true blue-red; Funmilayo, a gorgeous bold purple; and Nina, my perfect brown. Check out my swatches here, and then buy them. You won't regret it.


Pat McGrath Skin Fetish Sublime Perfection Foundation (1.18 oz for $68, available at Pat McGrath and Sephora)

I have wanted this foundation for so long. But the price point... 🥵. PMG had a 25% off sale recently, so I figured then was a good a time as any to finally bite the bullet and splurge. I've been leaning towards lighter coverage base products, so this foundation came into my life at the perfect time. It definitely starts out as sheer, but you can build it up to a light medium coverage with no problem. It is a liquid foundation at it's core, so I feel like I have to work to blend it quickly, but the finish is SO beautiful. Skin-like, with the perfect amount of dew. I use shade Medium Deep 27 for reference. The concealer is next on my list.


Mented Cosmetics Skin by Mented Foundation Stick ($30, available at Mented Cosmetics)

I love foundation sticks, and I love Mented, so it's no surprise that I love this product. I picked the wrong shade in my first go, but I'll be able to use in the winter months. I did pick up my complexion shade at the moment, and it's so so nice. This formula is creamy and blends seamlessly with a foundation brush (I highly recommend the Mented brush), and leaves behind a natural satin finish. For more targeted coverage, I apply to my problem areas. I have oily skin so I tend to set the product with powder. Highly recommend!


Honorable Mentions

The Lip Bar Liquid Matte Lipstick in Bawse Lady ($13, available at Target and The Lip Bar)

This is one of my favorite true blue reds and it definitely makes me feel like a bad bitch who is ready to take over the world. Plus this baby does not budge and your lips won't feel dry once applied. Just make sure that your lips are properly exfoliated beforehand or else the cracks will shoooowwww.


Danessa Myricks Color Fix (.1 oz for $18, available at Danessa Myricks Beauty)

This is also another product that I've wanted to try for the longest. They were having a pretty good sale recently, so I picked up 8 shades in different finishes. I would have bought more but I exercised a little self-control that day. The pigments are multi-use for eyes, cheeks, and lips, and a little goes a long way. The mattes are the most pigmented and dry down very quickly, and don't move once they set. The foils are personally my favorite formula (I have the shades Venus and Nebula), and I love layering them over the mattes. I can't wait to play with these babies all season long.


I'm sure there are a million other products that I could add to this list, but these are my favorites at the moment. Thank you for reading! I hope I've inspired you to try some new makeup 😉.


xx,

Danielle

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page