top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

Fenty Skin Review

Do you know how hard it was to keep this a got damn secret?! WHEN I TELL YOU I SCREAMED WHEN I GOT THE EMAIL AND SIGNED THAT NDA WITH THE QUICKNESS. Before the team had a chance to realize the massive mistake they made in asking lil ol' me, an imposter, to try Queen Rih's skincare first. Anyway, I FINALLY get to share with you my experience with the FENTY SKIN products that I've been using for a month now! Keep reading for all the tea ☕️.


(This is my skin on a random morning, 2.5 weeks in after using only Fenty Skin)



THE PRODUCTS

Total Cleans'r ($25 USD for 4.9 fl oz)

This baby pink-tinted, gel-to-cream cleanser is advertised as both a cleanser and a makeup remover in one, but I've never used it as such (ALWAYS DOUBLE CLEANSE FAM). As a second cleanse, it's a nice cleanser, but there's nothing too special about it. It does have a slight fragrance--it smells like candy to me--so if you're sensitive to fragrance I would steer clear. It definitely doesn't make my skin feel tight after use, and the ingredients haven't broken me out. It's made with Barbados Cherry, an antioxidant; Gingo biolba, to control oil and clarify skin; green tea, also rich in antioxidants; fig, another antioxidant; and quince, a rare fruit infused with minerals to help condition your skin. I LOVE the packaging of this cleanser; it has a twist-cap and the cleanser is dispensed through the cap. No more losing the top of your damn cleanser. It does have the tendency to get messy, but it's not a dealbreaker for me. Would I repurchase this product if it didn't have Rihanna's name on it? Probably not. But since it does... 👀


COP OR DROP


Fat Water Pore-Refining Toner-Serum ($28 USD for 5 fl oz)

Lemme just start by saying, RIHANNA DID THAT. Fat Water and Hydra Visor are tied for my favorite products in the bunch. But let's start with Fat Water. It's a 2-in-1 toner/serum combo that targets pores, improves discoloration, brightens, smoothes, and fights shine. The girl is HY👏🏾DRA👏🏾TING👏🏾. I am obsessed with the way my skin looks and feels immediate after using it. The texture is thick, and I usually go a little overboard with how much I apply to my face, so I need to chill on that. You really only need two or three drops per application. The packaging is similar to that of the cleanser, meaning that the product is dispensed through the top of the cap. Rihanna says that you dispense it directly in your hand and onto your face, no cotton pad needed, which in turn means less waste! Love that for us. The ingredients listed are: niacinamide (which honestly, I have a love hate relationship with this ingredient) to even skin tone and limit shine; Barbados Cherry again for it's antioxidant properties; Australian lemon myrtle & witch hazel to help reduce oil and refine pores... I was a little hesitant when I saw witch hazel, but combined with literally all of the other ingredients, this product is clearly hydrating and not stripping like witch hazel is as an ingredient by itself. It also has cactus flower to help hydrate, and green tea and fig for more antioxidant properties. To me, this product doesn't have a significant fragrance, although it is listed as an ingredient, so for my sensitive skin girls, be wary. Although this is advertised as a toner and serum hybrid, I usually do follow up with a vitamin c serum in the morning and a hyaluronic acid serum during my pm routine. I will ABSOLUTELY be repurchasing this when I get through it.


COP OR DROP


Hydra Visor Invisible Moisturizer + SPF ($35 USD for 1.7 fl oz)

This was the product I was most excited about. A FENTY SUNSCREEN???? THAT'S ALSO A MOISTURIZER? It has such a beautiful formula and it dissolves into my skin like a cloud but also makes me look like a glowy supermodel in one go. HOW?! First of all, the packaging is dope. It comes in two parts, and you click the refillable part into the bottle, and I love that she did that. When you run out, I guess the idea is that you'll only have to repurchase a refillable cartridge to re-insert into the bottle. I STAN. The formula has this baby pink tint, and it feels most similar to a lightweight gel cream, which is perfect for my oily skin in these summer months. It has broad spectrum SPF 30 protection (but please make sure to reapply every 2 hours if you'll be outside). The formula is reef-safe, as well. I have used it underneath my makeup a few times now and have had zero issues with pilling. However, I feel like it looks most incredible on it's own--no makeup necessary. It's ingredients are: kalahari melon, which helps to hydrate; niacinimide, which evens skin and reduces the look of dark spots or discoloration; hyaluronic acid & aloe to hydrate and soothe; and baobab, to help hydrate. I truly feel like she developed a formula which will make people excited to wear their sunscreen.


COP!!!!!!! OR DROP



Final Thoughts:

All in all, I'm so excited about this line and to see what else Miss Fenty has up her sleeve! I hope in the future we can add some fragrance-free products for those with sensitive skin who really can't handle the fragrance. Forever grateful to have been one of the first to review!!! Look out for an IGTV (my very first!!!) on Friday applying the products firsthand for you to see!


xx

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page