top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

December Empties 🗑

The last set of empties for 2020!


Skincare

Acure Resurfacing Dewy All Day Moisturizer (1 fl oz for $18.99, available at Acure, Amazon, and Whole Foods)

I did not like this moisturizer. I won't lie and say that I didn't buy it out of sheer curiosity--the ingredients read: true unicorn root, glycolic acid, highlighter peptide, and hemp seed oil. The description reads: for those who want dewy, glass glow skin. Honey, this ain't it. It never made my skin feel any more moisturized than before I applied. Honestly, my partner is the one who emptied this product, so thankfully it wasn't a complete waste of money. But I couldn't stand it. Hard pass. Will not repurchase. Which is such a shame considering how much I love Acure's single oils.


Beautystat Universal Pro-Bio Moisture Boost Cream* (1 oz for $50, available at BeautyStat)

I am so in love with this moisturizer. I wrote about it in my Top 5: Black Owned in Skincare post (which you can read here), but basically, TLDR: it's an incredible gel-based moisturizer for all skin types, and even though it's on the pricier side, it's definitely worth the coin in my opinion. Definitely will repurchase in the future, once I get through my ridiculous stash of moisturizers.


Fourth Ray Beauty BFD Cleansing Oil (4.15 fl oz for $14 at Fourth Ray Beauty and Ulta)

Love love love love love this cleansing oil. I've lost count of how many bottles that I've been through. I would say it takes off about 75% of my tough makeup and gives my skin that good clean feeling. It's formulated with calming ingredients like camellia, juniper berry, and meadowfoam seed oil which are nutrient-rich antioxidants. I currently opened the new Belif Aqua Bomb Cleansing Balm, and I also have the Purito From Green Cleansing Oil opened in my shower, so I won't repurchase this at the moment, but for the price point I would definitely order this again in the future.


I truly resonate with the founder of Hyper Skin, Desiree, who created this serum after months of breakouts while she was pregnant with her first child. I had to get my hands on this serum solely after reading the incredible ingredient list. It's packed with 15% vitamin c, fruit enzymes, turmeric, and kojic acid to attack hyperpigmentation and lighten stubborn dark spots for clearer, cleaner, skin. It's an unscented gel that has no problem playing nicely with other skincare products. I've noticed a drastic difference in some stubborn hyperpigmentation around my chin area after using this consistently for three weeks. I'll share a before and after around the 8 week mark (or when I finish the bottle, tbh). All in all, a killer vitamin c serum that you should definitely add to your list. The brand has already sent me a backup, along with the extra backups that I have when they were doing a buy one get one promo over the summer. But I will continue to repurchase!


Krave Beauty Kale-lalu-yAHA Resurfacing AHA Exfoliator (6.76 oz for $25, available at Krave Beauty)

It took me a while to get through this, using it 2-3 times a week in the morning, so I love the amount that you get for the price point. It's a pretty gentle exfoliant, with ingredients like kale, spinach, and parsley that give your skin a boost without being too harsh. This is one of my favorite chemical exfoliants, and I would definitely repurchase in the future.


Rosen Skincare Tropics Moisturizer (2 oz for $20, available at Rosen, Target, and Urban Outfitters)

Another Black-owned brand, I bought this moisturizer and the Tropics Toner over the summer and have used them both regularly in my routines, so they both lasted around 6 months. The moisturizer is formulated with kojic acid, pineapple extract, and HA to ultimately fade dark spots and leave you with a healthy glow. The texture is thick, and I found if I applied too much at one time it took a while to absorb. At night time I would mix in a few drops of my favorite oil to add to the hydration factor. I do use a lot of treatments/products that are aiming at fading my hyperpigmentation, so it's hard to say whether or not this product works. But it definitely didn't hurt. It's not my favorite moisturizer though so I don't think I would repurchase it.


Rosen Skincare Tropics Toner (4 oz for $18, available at Rosen, Target, and Urban Outfitters)

As I'm writing this, the Tropics Toner is unavailable on the Rosen website, so I hyperlinked the product at Target instead. I really enjoyed this toner. It's also more viscous than I imagined it would be, and I had a little mishap thinking that it was more of a liquid-y consistency and spilled a ton on my vanity. So instead of pouring it straight out the bottle which seemed to be a recipe for disaster for me, I would dampen a cotton round instead. It has the same hyperpigmentation fighting ingredients as the moisturizer, which I am a fan of. Using the two together along with a vitamin c serum and a sunscreen definitely kept my complexion in check. I would repurchase this toner in the future.


Makeup

Pat McGrath FetishEyes Lengthening Mascara (0.27 for $30, available at Sephora)

This is one of my favorite mascaras in the whole world, and pictured are the two samples that came free after spending $25 at Sephora, and I fell in love so quickly that I immediately bought the full size. It makes my lashes look so full that it's almost hard for me to believe. I've also never had a problem with flaking, which is the problem I have with one of my favorite mascara formulas (that I won't be mentioning because they've repeatedly left out a full group of people who look like me or who are darker in complexion than me out of their products) I can't ever bring myself to advocate for buying full sized mascaras, especially when you're supposed to toss them after three months of use, but unfortunately this formula doesn't have a mini size, so I'm doing my best to wear it every damn day in order not to waste it. Would definitely repurchase. Sorry for the run on sentences there, lol.


Bodycare

Flamingo Light Hydrating Spray (6.7 oz for $10, available at Flamingo & Target)

This is literally my second bottle and for $10 I'll definitely keep grabbing them on my Target runs. This is every lazy person's dream; spray, rub, and glow! Formulated with squalane, white willow bark, apple extract and papaya extract; it's not sticky, it absorbs so quickly and is actually hydrating. Nivea could never! Will absolutely repurchase.


Nécessaire The Body Lotion* (6.8 oz for $25, available at Nécessaire, Nordstrom, and more)

Honestly, Nécessaire hasn't disappointed me yet. This body lotion is lightweight and moisturizing, and I love that it's fragrance-free which is perfect for those with sensitive skin. The brand has already sent me a backup, but in the future I will definitely repurchase.


And that's all! Thanks for reading!


And if you've made it all the way to the end, send me a DM on Instagram (@miamibeautyvice) that you've read the post and you'll automatically be entered to win a secret giveaway prize! 😘


xx,

Danielle


*PR/Gifted

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page