top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

Five Minute Makeup Series, Ed. 2

Welcome to the second edition of Five Minute Makeup ✨.


I'm always trying to find ways to accomplish a fresh and glowy face in the least amount of time possible, and I was incredibly pleased about the results of this attempt.


-I always always always start with SPF. I just recently picked up Supergoop's Smooth & Poreless 100% Mineral Matte Screen ($38), and I'm loving it so far. It's a tinted, virtually weightless SPF (SPF 40 for those wondering) and it works as a makeup primer by blurring your pores and leaving you with a matte finish. I'm always wary of products that claim to have a "universal tint" but this actually blends into my skin almost immediately.


-My favorite no-makeup makeup "foundation" is Bare Mineral's Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Cream ($30). It's a lightweight gel cream that blends seamlessly with just your fingers. I don't often lean towards tinted moisturizers or BB/CC creams because I have hyperpigmentation and acne scars that I'm always trying to hide. This formula covers a lot more than I anticipated. It instantly makes my skin look more luminous, and naturally so. This formula also has SPF in it which is a nice bonus. The only thing that's bogus about this product is the shade range. I wear the darkest shade in the range, Sienna 10.


-I follow with NARS Soft Matte Concealer ($30) to go in on the areas where the Bare Minerals didn't completely cover. I also use this under my eyes to brighten, and I know that it'll stay put, even without setting powder.


-I highlight with Flesh Highlighting Balm in Startle ($18), a beautiful silvery shade. I tend to warm this product up on the back of my hand and then tap it into the high points of my face to get more of a pigment payoff. I often compare this product to it's more subtle cousin, Glossier's Haloscope in Moonstone. It gives off a dewy finish, and it's creamy enough that you can build it up to ultimate glow. In this attempt, I only added one layer of the Flesh balm, and then topped it with Colourpop's Super Shock Highlight in Stole the Show ($8), to add that extra emphasis. It's a warm silver shade with pops of pink and gold shimmer as well. I have only good things to say about Colourpop's Super Shock formula. It's buttery soft, super pigmented, buildable to blinding, creamy, and AFFORDABLE. You literally cannot beat it.


-The final touch, of course, is Bite Beauty's Agave Lip Mask in Champagne ($26) which is more of a rose gold that just adds the perfect amount of subtle shimmer to my already glowing complexion. I apply a thin layer to my lips and I know that I'm covered for a majority of the day because this mask is so hydrating. It's described as a nightly lip recovery mask, but I love this stuff so much that I use it during the day as well. Especially during these drier winter months. One tube of this will also last you between 6 months and a year depending on how often you use it 🙌🏾.



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page