top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

Foundation - The Base

I feel like this was the summer of base products. Every week a new brand was boasting their new foundation launch, and I seriously had whiplash. Thankfully, it seems to be slowing down a little bit now that fall is here. Keep reading if you're interested in reviews of some new foundations that I've been using.

Flesh Pure Flesh Liquid Foundation (1 fl oz for $32 at Flesh or Ulta)

What is it: A liquid foundation with medium, natural-looking coverage that's never cakey, lasts all day, and cares for your skin as much as you do with its skin-loving ingredients. Infused with aloe vera, squalane, and sodium hyaluronate (a form of HA) to help skin feel smooth and moisturized all day long.

How many shades in the range: 40

Rating: 9/10

I had so many new foundations in my arsenal before this drop, and I bought it anyway because I sometimes have no self-control. I actually went to Ulta twice and shade-matched myself before walking in a third time and ultimately buying it. There were a couple of shades that seemed like it would work for me, but I decided on Pecan. This foundation is gorgeous. There is no other word for it. It's the perfect amount of coverage for me, it covers most of my imperfections, and it feels like nothing. It's a water-based formula so it's lightweight and breathable. I use about a pump and a half to cover my whole face. It's a natural finish, and leaves the skin looking luminous and healthy. I like to try my foundations both with and without powder to see how they wear during the day. When I tried this foundation with setting powder, it held up really nicely throughout the day, with a little bit of extra shine on my forehead, but that was all. When I wore this foundation without setting powder, however, I noticed that I went from looking natural and luminous to excessively oily/dewy/whatever you wanna call it in about 2.5 hours. Granted, it's hot as a mofo in these streets, so I take that into consideration also. All in all, I'm excited to keep using this baby, because it's simply lovely.


What is it: A hydrating, long-wear foundation that delivers comfortable, medium-to-full coverage in a natural finish perfect for normal to dry skin.

How many shades in the range: 50!!!!

Rating: 5/10

First and foremost, I don't have normal to dry skin. I knew this foundation was not intended for the girls with my skin type. Still, I have to support Queen Rih in all of her endeavors, especially anything to do with Fenty Beauty. I picked up some samples of shades that I believed worked for me, based on my concealer shade and my Pro Filt'r Soft Matte. I did two full days of wear tests with both sample shades (I wear 430 in Soft Matte and my complexion concealer shade is 440). It did not wear beautifully for me. On first application, it conceals and evens my complexion beautifully. It is a certainly medium-buildable foundation. I only had to add one layer to cover up all of my pesky dark spots around my cheeks and chin. It also does dry down to leave a nice healthy glow that doesn't look heavy or cakey in the least. After 1.5 hours though, I was a slick mess. I had even powdered my areas that I knew would get oily the fastest, and still no luck. I wasn't that optimistic that this product would work for me, so when it didn't I wasn't too disappointed. This, I know, is a godsend to my dry skin babes out there.


Urban Decay Stay Naked Weightless Liquid Foundation* (1 fl oz for $39 at Sephora and Ulta)

What is it: A vegan, buildable, medium-coverage liquid foundation with a real-skin, matte finish that lasts up to 24 hours.

How many shades in the range: 50

Rating: 8/10

I actually wrote a full ass blog post on this one foundation already. You can read my thoughts, see swatches, and pics on how it wore on me here.


Maybelline Dream Urban Cover Full Coverage Protective Makeup, SPF 50 (1 fl oz for $13, available at most major drugstores)

What is it: Maybelline's Dream Urban Cover Flawless Coverage Foundation SPF 50 has broad-spectrum and is enriched with antioxidants to help protect against pollution, yet feels lightweight and breathable. It not only leaves a natural-looking finish but protects skin day after day. Available in 16 shades. Dermatologist tested.

How many shades in the range: 16

Rating: 7/10

I am a sunscreen fiend, and when this dropped I was mainly intrigued because of the SPF 50 coverage it boasted. I didn't really think anything of it, and didn't expect to even be able to find my shade because it's a drugstore foundation, and there's a measly 16 shades. I initially picked up Truffle, which I found to be a shade too dark for me. Went back and picked up Cafe Au Lait, which is closer in tone, but not a perfect match. It claims to be a full coverage foundation, but I think it's closer to medium-buildable, mostly because after one layer all of my hyperpigmentation was not fully covered. The texture is liquid-y and blends out really nicely with a foundation brush (see my absolute favorite foundation brush here). The finish is hydrating/slightly dewy but not oily. It's a gorgeous foundation for the price, with the added benefits of sunscreen. More shades are needed, but very impressed with Maybelline!


Becca Ultimate Coverage 24 Hour Foundation* (1.01 fl oz for $44 at Sephora and Ulta)

What is it: A buildable, full-coverage foundation featuring up to 24-hour humidity-, sweat-, water-, and transfer-resistant wear with a natural finish.

How many shades in the range: 42

Rating: 6/10

If you're a full coverage foundation girl, I think you'll really like this option. I truly only need 1 to 1.5 pumps to cover my full face and she is a true fullllll coverage. However, it doesn't feel cakey or heavy in the slightest and the finish is a lovely natural-matte. I was gifted the shade Walnut, which is a little bit on the reddish side for me, but nothing I can't finesse to work with my current skin tone. If you have dry skin, I would say this is a no go for you, or to definitely use a hydrating primer before you apply. My rating is a 6 simply because I'm not a full-coverage girl anymore, so I already know I won't be reaching for this one super often. And she's expensive 😅.


What is it: A clean, water-based, liquid foundation in a stick that combines hydrating skincare benefits and SPF with naturally-radiant, buildable, medium coverage.

How many shades in the range: 20

Rating: 7.5/10

I really really love this product. Considering how much I love the tinted moisturizer I wasn't really shocked. The only thing that threw me off is that the shades don't coincide. I figured that since I'm a Sienna in the tinted moisturizer I would be the same with the complexion stick. Not so much. I had to shade down because Sienna in the stick was a little too red for me. The combination of the two of these products together though gives me the most healthy looking skin in the world. I usually apply a full face of the tinted moisturizer and then dab the complexion stick on spots where I need a little bit more coverage. It is truly hydrating, and it wears beautifully throughout the entire day. I usually don't wear powder when I use this combo so I do look a little more on the oily side after 6+ hours, but that's to be expected. The price point is a little absurd considering how much less foundation you get for the price. Especially compared to the full ounce you get with the tinted moisturizer. This is the reason I docked points for the rating. Otherwise, would definitely recommend the foundation stick, but I would especially recommend the combo.


Milk Makeup Flex Foundation Stick (0.35 oz for $36 at Sephora)

What is it: A medium coverage, natural finish foundation that covers, calms, and flexes without creasing or caking.

How many shades in the range: 36

Rating: 9/10

I LOVE THIS FOUNDATION. POINT BLANK PERIOD. I haven't tried very much by Milk, but I'm a sucker for a stick product just because they're easy for on the go. Not like I do much on the go makeup, but I like to be prepared in case I do have to throw something in my bag. Plus the magnetic packaging is fun to play with. The formula of this one is incredibly creamy, it glides on the skin like butter, and then blends out seamlessly with a perfect skin-like finish. I do think it applies better with a brush vs a sponge, FYI. Also, Hydrogrip is the best primer to use this with! It's infused with blue lotus and chamomile to calm and soothe skin. I was a little worried about the "flex" claim because if it's supposed to move with my skin like the brand suggests, wouldn't it pick up my crease lines, etc? That was not the case. This is apparently due to the marshmallow root extract in the formula. In any case, I am obsessed. The shade I picked up, Tan, is a perfect match. It still looks like I first applied it after 6 hours. Well done, Milk. Well done. Like the Bareminerals Tinted Rescue Foundation Stick I docked points on my rating simply because I think we should be getting more product for the price. BUT DEFINITELY TRY THIS PRODUCT!!!


What is it: A lightweight, soft-matte finish tinted moisturizer that gives sheer, breathable coverage that is undetectable on skin.

How many shades in the range: 16

Rating: 7.5/10

I was so intrigued by this product the first time I saw it. Most tinted moisturizers are made to make your skin look like skin, so when this one had the word "matte" in it's name, I was hooked. Not that I don't love a dewy vibe every now and then. I shade matched in store to #14 Chenille, and it's quite the perfect match for my skin tone. It's similar to a serum-like texture, but it's slightly thicker. It definitely gives you sheer coverage, but if you had a couple of layers like I did, it is buildable to light coverage. Apparently you can build it up to medium coverage if you'd like (and I haven't tried doing so), but I think that takes away from the "tinted moisturizer" aspect. It blurred my pores really nicely, and I truly like the finish even before I added powder. Soft-matte is a great description for it. Reminds me of the Fenty Pro Filt'r but obviously without the coverage. You can still see some hyperpigmentation peeking through on my cheeks with this, but nothing a little concealer can't cover up. I like to use either Colourpop's No Filter Concealer or Nars Soft Matte Concealer with a base like this. I usually only powder my t-zone with a tinted moisturizer, because I truly want my skin to shine through, imperfections and all. After a few hours my face started to look a little bit shiny and I did have to blot. Which doesn't bother me at all, just wanted to note. If you want a demo, I posted a first impressions of this product in my #GRWM highlights on Instagram that you can check out.


I also wanted to mention that I'm wear testing a couple of Colourpop's new Pretty Fresh Tinted Moisturizers. Look out for a full blog post review/wear test situation on this product.


*products are gifted, all opinions are my own.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page