top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

January/February Empties 🗑


January threw me for a loop so I never got to finish my empties blog post before I actually posted my empties on IG. Either way, I'm combining January and February because I still want you guys to have the low-down on what I tried, liked, and would repurchase. Keep reading if you're interested! And welcome to March! 🤪


Skincare

Acure Beauty Incredibly Clear Charcoal Lemonade Cleansing Clay* (4 fl oz for $13, available at Acure Beauty/Whole Foods/Ulta Beauty)

I'm a fan of Acure Beauty and their skincare in general, so I enjoyed this gentle scrub of theirs immensely. It's formulated with volcanic lava, charcoal, and lemon and smells like a sweet lemonade. There are small beads of what I assume is volcanic lava that work to gently exfoliate your skin. It's a thick, gray formula and you only need a dime sized amount to effectively cleanse your face. My skin felt clean but not stripped each time after use, but I never used this daily, as I never want to over-exfoliate my skin. Overall, there are a lot of other cleansers I would purchase from Acure before repurchasing this one (so I won't repurchase). But if you're looking for a cleanser with a gentle exfoliating factor that's affordable, I would definitely recommend this one.



AmorePacific Moisture Bound Rejuvenating Creme* (1.7 fl oz for $150, available at Sephora)

I received this as creme in AmorePacific's Discovery set, which includes some of their best selling products. When I say that this creme is luxurious... it feels like satin on your skin! It has the most gorgeous gel cream texture that I love, and literally melts into your skin. Not absorbs, but ~melts~. I wanted to savor this product and use it sparingly but I just could not get enough of the moisture, so I went in on it 🥴. And now I regret it because I do not have $150 to spend on a moisturizer. One day when I'm making bank I will definitely repurchase.


Fourth Ray Beauty AM to the PM Gel Cleanser (5.8 fl oz for $12, available at Fourth Ray Beauty)

This was a nice cleanser. I didn't find myself reaching for it so often when I opened it, but closer to the end of it's life I used it more and more. It's gentle and didn't strip my skin of any of it's moisture or make my face feel tight. All in all, I would say this is a great starter cleanser for someone who is new to creating a skincare routine. Plus the price point is prime. Please note that it is heavily fragranced, as are most Fourth Ray products, which doesn't affect me, but I know could bother some. There are a lot more cleansers that I enjoy more, so I won't repurchase.

Fourth Ray Beauty Mellow Milk Mist (4.15 fl oz for $8, available at Fourth Ray Beauty)

I haaaaate this product. Which really sucked because I'm a huge fan of their other mists: Glisten Up & Fresh AF. Something about this mist just made me feel incredibly sticky and not cute. The mists on these bottles are also super harsh, which I hope Fourth Ray is planning on addressing because as much as I love the other two mists you literally have to hold the bottle 25 feet away from you or else... either way, nah--will not repurchase.


Glossier Invisible Shield (1 fl oz for $25, available at Glossier)

This is my third or fourth bottle, so I'm sure I've written about this ad nauseam, but this is a great BGF sunscreen that leaves no white cast and leaves a gorgeous mix of a satin/dewy finish. I love using Invisible Shield, a dot of concealer on imperfections & haloscope for that natural your-skin-but-better/five-minute-makeup mornings. I will definitely repurchase in the future.


Good Molecules Cleansing Balm* (2.5 oz for $15, available at Beautylish)

I've tried a fair amount of cleansing oils and cleansing balms, and this is not one of my favorites. I had to use a generous amount in order to remove all my makeup from a heavier-beat day, even though online it says you only need an almond sized amount. And then when while it was emulsifying, it would leave this weird milky film on my skin which took way too long to wash off in my humble opinion. It also didn't help that I had just finished a deluxe sample of Farmacy's Green Clean (aka the holy grail cleansing balm). It just wasn't a fair competition. Will not repurchase.


Good Molecules Niacinamide Brightening Toner* (4 fl oz for $14, available at Beautylish)

Another God Molecules product that I just didn't love. I was really excited about this one because the hype seemed to be positive. I certainly don't think this product harmed my skin in anyway, but I don't think it helped even skin tone or brighten any dark spots. And I used it religiously each morning and night as soon as I opened it. I will commend the fact that you do receive a ton of product for the price point. I simply think niacinamide is one of those products that's hit or miss for me, and this was a definite miss for me. Will not repurchase.

House of M Botanical Miracle Serum* (1 fl oz for $70, available at House of M Beauty)

I received this in PR and it took me almost a year to get through. It's described as an anti-aging, antioxidant rich, serum packed with highly-effective yet natural ingredients to combat every skin concern from uneven tone to redness to breakouts. The consistency is closer to that of an oil, so I used it as the last step in my PM skincare routine, and sometimes I would add a drop or two to my more matte foundation. The miracle ingredient in this serum is the saffron pieces floating around, which "works to even out skin tone, reduce redness, minimize the appearance of fine lines and balance your skin’s sebum production, all while restoring radiance to the skin." It's a thick consistency and if you use more than two drops it's a little overpowering. Overall, it's a nice serum/oil but I don't think that I'll repurchase in the future. I don't think it evened out my skin tone in any way and I was using it religiously for the last month or so. No need to spend this much money on an oil/serum that you could get for much cheaper.


Krave The Beet Shield SPF 50 (1.69 fl oz for $20, available at Krave Beauty)

This is the second bottle that I've emptied, and it's quickly become one of my favorite SPFs to date. It works to protect your skin from the sun and also from everyday pollutants/environmental stressors. It's a serum-like formula that leaves absolutely no white cast and gives you such a gorgeous lit-from-within glow. I am overflowing with other SPFs in my collection, but I will definitely repurchase in the future.

Neutrogena Hydroboost Water Gel Lotion SPF 30 (3 fl oz. for $14, available at Amazon, Ulta, Target, Walmart...everywhere)

Another BGF sunscreen that leaves no white cast. Plus I love that it's affordable. It has a slightly thicker consistency than the Nuetrogena Hydroboost moisturizer, but absorbs and dries down to a natural sheen finish. It has a slight fresh fragrance to it, but it never once broke me out. It also comes in an SPF 50 option. I use this as a body sunscreen too because it gives me that natural sun-kissed glow. Just like with Krave, I won't repurchase this at the moment, but if you're looking for an affordable sunscreen that won't leave a white cast, I highly recommend this one.


OleHenriksen C-Rush Brightening Gel Creme (1.7 oz for $46, available at Sephora)

I must admit that I am a fan of the OleHenriksen Truth Line. I didn't have the full size product, but instead I used a mini size for moisturizer in my AM routine whenever I traveled. The amount in the mini lasted me a decent amount of time, around 4 or 5 trips, each over a weekend long. The texture is that of a gel cream, which I love, absorbed very quickly while also providing a generous amount of hydration. It smells just like all of the other products in the Truth line--like that of fresh citrus. I'm considering buying a full size of this because I did enjoy this product! Would repurchase.


Starface Big Yellow Hydro-Stars* (32 patches for $22, available at Starface World)

I low key went through these so quickly, mainly because they're incredibly cute. But also because if anyone ever pointed them out, I could just pretend that my 4 year old slathered me in stickers. A win win. These don't work for me as well as my beloved CosRx pimple patches do, they're sort of finnicky depending on what type of breakout you have. They just restocked me with their new holographic stars which I can't waaaait to wear in public, because holo is everything. Won't repurchase.

Summer Fridays Jet Lag Mask (2.25 oz for $48, available at Sephora and Summer Fridays)

Ah, the instagram mask. I finally emptied my first tube of Jet Lag, which seemed to take forever. At first I only used it when I was traveling. It's great for that. And then I used it a few times when I noticed my under-eyes were dryer than usual. It's great for that. I used it as the last step in my PM routine (combined with a few drops of my favorite oil). I think that was my favorite way to use it. I definitely think she's overpriced, but you're paying for the aesthetic, right? I have a backup and a travel size of this (thankfully gifted) so I won't be repurchasing anytime soon, but I do like this mask!

Supergoop Unseen Sunscreen SPF 40 (1.7 oz for $34, available at Sephora and Supergoop)

I will forever repurchase. Don't ask me again. Bye.

The Inkey List Hyaluronic Acid Serum (1 oz for $7.99, available at Sephora)

I've been through countless bottles of this serum already and I will always repurchase. It's such a no-fuss, do-what-it-says product. It hydrates and layers well with other products. The price is insane, the only qualm I have is that I need a BIGGER BOTTLE. 1 oz will simply not cut it anymore.


The Inkey List Q10 Antioxidant Serum* (1 oz for $6.99, avaialble at Sephora)

Q10 is known as a powerful antioxidant that works to keep pollution and environmental stressors from harming our skin barrier. It also protects against accelerated signs of aging while also hydrating. I liked using this serum in tandem with the Hyaluronic Acid. It's slightly thicker than the HA serum, but layers well. It's also unscented which I appreciate. The only thing is the bottle is hard to control so sometimes I would dispense too much product at once. This is one of those preventative products that I would repurchase, not because it made any immediate or dramatic difference in my skin, but because I knew it would be protecting my skin.

I didn't have a full size of this, just a deluxe sample size that I used when I was traveling. I would use this solely for my PM routine. The consistency of this moisturizer is everything. It's got a cloud-like, gel cream texture, which is my absolutely favorite. I don't know that I would repurchase this product in a full size just because it's a little on the pricey side. But I understand the hype.


Makeup

Colourpop No Filter Foundation Stix (0.3 oz for $10, available at Colourpop and Ulta)

I don't think I have ever finished a stick foundation before it expired so this was a huge feat for me fam. Like a lot of stick foundations, this can be used for a full base, spot concealing, and contouring. It's considered a medium-buildable coverage foundation that blurs pores, conceals blemishes, and is can easily blend leaving a natural skin-like finish. They have a great selection of shades--I was able to shade match my summer shade and winter shades, no problem. I love this formula. It's definitely more of a medium/full coverage foundation for me, swipes on creamy, definitely blends easily with any sort of brush or sponge I've tried with it. I find that I get a more seamless base with a sponge, so I tend to use them. After a few hours I do notice that I have oily areas around my t-zone, even after setting with powder, which is expected and I don't mind. I love the combination of this foundation with the other No Filter complexion products, i.e. the concealer and the powder. I have already repurchased this just because it's great to have for on the go.


Colourpop No Filter Natural Matte Foundation (0.85 fl oz for $12, available at Colourpop and Ulta)

I picked this up as soon as it dropped and that was two years ago? It's a full-coverage, natural matte foundation that aims to give you flawless skin from day-to-night. I used it for a long time when it first came out and then it got lost in my collection of foundations. I found it again recently and forgot how much I loved it. It's definitely a full coverage foundation, so I gravitate towards this when I'm going out, and it looks truly flawless all night long. It's available in 42 shades and again, was able to match my shade pretty perfectly online. I will repurchase in the future, but not at the current moment because I'm drowning in other foundations, but I love the coverage and affordability.


Colourpop No Filter Concealer ($7, available at Colourpop and Ulta)

I think I empty one of these a month. I've said before that I have backups after backups of these. LOVE.


Hair

Briogeo Curl Charisma Leave-In Defining Creme* (6 oz for $20, available at Briogeo and Sephora)

Nancy from Briogeo was kind enough to send me the entirety of their Curl Charisma line, and honestly there's not one product in the line I don't love. This is a curl-defining cream that provides definition and control while maintaining movement and touchability for resilient, sleek, and long-lasting curls. I think I emptied it so quickly because I used it on both mine and my daughter's hair. It's formulated with rice amino acids to seal hair cuticles to lock out environmental moisture that causes frizz; avocado oil which softens and hydrates curls and coils; and quinoa extract to define curls and coils. I have other defining products right now but I would definitely repurchase this in the future.


Supplements

Rae Wellness Daily Cleanse (30 day supply [60 capsules] for $14.99, available at Target)

I was just perusing Target one day when I came across this new line of supplements for women. I'm getting older and I'm all about taking supplements for areas that I'm not getting enough nutrients just through diet. The selection is incredible--they have supplements that support your mood, your diet, your sleep, your sex life... etc. And they're all incredibly affordable!! All of their supplements are vegan, gluten-free, non-toxic, with no preservatives, and no harmful fillers or colorants. Daily cleanse is formulated with Cascara Sagrada, which is a moving agent that helps clear toxins; herbal antioxidants which help fight free radicals and support healthy cells; and turmeric (one of my favorite ingredients) to promote skin health. I do notice I don't feel as lethargic or out of it on days when I eat poorly as much as I used to. I've been using them for 30 days exactly and have already repurchased them because I do want to take them for a minimum of 3 months before I make a full assessment on whether they have helped me or not.

Rae Wellness Complexion (30 day supply [60 capsules] for $14.99, available at Target)

The complexion capsules are formulated with vitamins A and E to promote hydration and improve skin tone and texture; and green tea to help revitalize and promote healthy-looking skin. I have also already repurchased these because I want to take them for a minimum of 3 months before I make a full assessment on whether they have helped me or not.



If you've made it this far, thank you for reading! You're a real one 😘. DM me on instagram and let me know what you've emptied this month!


*products were gifted or sent via PR, but opinions are completely my own.


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page