top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

July & August Empties 🗑

Updated: Nov 9, 2019

There is something so ridiculously therapeutic about saving empty bottles of product, and then throwing them all out at one time at the end of the month. No? Just me? I was on the verge of finishing a lot of products at the end of July, so just figured I'd combine it with August as well. Herewegoooo.


Skincare


Panacea The Aegis Daily Facial Cleanser* (100mL for $24 at panacea.com)

I'm incredibly sad that I ran out of this. If I didn't have a million other cleansers opened, I would absolutely repurchase this. A tiny dime sized amount (or even less honestly) works into a satisfying lather and makes my skin feel incredibly clean and smooth but not dry or stripped whatsoever. It contains ingredients like hyaluronic acid, green tea extract and vitamin E to cleanse and hydrate at the same time. Would have definitely lasted me longer if my partner wasn't using it also 🙄.


Fourth Ray BFD Cleansing Oil (4.15 oz for $14 at Fourth Ray Beauty)

One of my absolute favorite cleansing oils to use. I keep one in the shower and one on the counter of my bathroom for all of my double cleansing needs. It does a really good job at removing at least 75% of my makeup, which is better than most oil cleansers I've tried in the past. I picked up a couple more in the most recent Fourth Ray sale so I am set! A definite repurchase!


Versed Dew Point Moisturizing Gel Cream (2 fl oz for $14.99 at Versed/Target)

I'm a sucker for lightweight, water-based moisturizers, so not really shocked that I loved this. It was perfect for the summertime heat, when I didn't want anything too heavy on my skin. My partner also really liked this moisturizer, so I depleted my stash quicker than usual. I already purchased another on my most recent Target trip. Have a feeling this will continue to be a staple in my AM routine.


Versed Stroke of Brilliance Brightening Serum (1 oz for $19.99 at Versed/Target)

Also another Versed product that I really enjoyed! I used this in my morning routine, right before my moisturizer, and it gave me that luminous glow that I strive for. I admit that I was kind of heavy-handed with the serum, so I think I ran out much quicker than I should have. It's a lightweight serum, and absorbs fairly quickly into my skin. It has a dropper so it's really easy to manipulate the amount you want to apply. If I didn't have other Vitamin C serums (Pixi Beauty & Fresh Beauty) open right now I would definitely think about repurchasing this!


So this is my very first Ordinary product... ever. You get one oz of product for $6.80 which is W I L D. The thing about the Ordinary products... they don't really tell you how to use them, you sort of have to figure out for yourself where you want to add their products into your routine. The two things that I got from my research was that this product is not for sensitive skin types because it stings (I don't have sensitive skin and it still stings me), and the texture is somewhat gritty. With this information, I decided to dilute a pea sized amount of this product with a thick nighttime moisturizer 2-3 times per week (I've been using Acure Beauty's Cloud Cream) just to get my skin used to it before I started to use it every night. I liked it, but don't think I'll be repurchasing it.


The Inkey List Hyaluronic Acid Serum (1 oz for $7.99 at Sephora)

The Inkey List hopped on the scene with their ridiculously affordable skincare, and I absolutely ate it up. I am semi-new to HA serums, so this was the second one I had ever used after Fourth Ray's Rainfall. I appreciate the Inkey List's HA way more. It's not sticky, it absorbs very quickly into the skin, and I can tell that my skin is way more hydrated and plump after using it consistently in both my morning and night routines. The only cons with this product are how little an amount you get per bottle, and the packaging. I wish it was a dropper instead, which would make it a little bit easier to control the flow of product. This is my second bottle, and I already have a backup for backup. I'm also going through it faster than a normal human is because my partner is a fan of this one as well. For $7.99, you bet I will continue to purchase this.


OleHenriksen Glow2OH Dark Spot Toner (6.5 oz for $28 at Sephora)

Ok, brace yourself for a rant. Ole makes some of my favorite products. I am not being dramatic when I say that I cannot live without my banana bright eye creme. When they came out with a glow toner that was supposed to lighten my dark spots in SEVEN DAYS (???) I was obviously skeptical, and waited on reviews (which were mixed at best) before I decided to try it for myself a couple months after the drop. Boy I am royally annoyed that I wasted $28 doll hairs of my hard earned $$$ for this. This product did absolutely NOTHING for me. After using it twice a day morning and night for MONTHS I have seen little to no improvement. And now my bottle is empty 😤. So NO--will not be repurchasing.


Black Girl Sunscreen SPF 30 (3 fl oz for $18.99 at Target or Black Girl Sunscreen)

A sunscreen created by us, for us. I cannot stress enough how much I love this sunscreen. It's lightweight, can be used all over the body, has SPF 30, and obviously leaves no white cast. In fact, it leaves such a gorgeous glow! I have 3 bottles as backup, and recommend this sunscreen to everyone and their mama. AND there's a BGS Kids version! Which I love to slather all over my daughter. Do yourself a favor and get on the BGS train! (Use Ashley's code "skinclasshero"to get 20% off and free shipping on every order!) REPURCHASE.


Bite Beauty Agave Lip Balm (0.15 oz for $14 at Sephora or Bite Beauty)

This is actually the last tube I have of the original Agave Lip Balm before they reformulated it to be completely vegan. I think that the old formula and the new formula are crazy similar--they both leave my lips hydrated and supple for hours on end, and even give the illusion of almost glossy lips. I think it goes without saying that this is a definite repurchase. One of my favorite lip balms. Plus it doesn't hurt that they reduced the price $4 from the original.


Mario Badescu Facial Toner with Rosewater (4 oz for $7 at Ulta or Sephora)

At this point I'm just trying to finish this stuff. I know it's bad for my skin, please don't drag me. I bought copious bottles when I was younger and more naive. SO NO. I won't be repurchasing.


Makeup


Clinique Acne Solutions Liquid Makeup (1 oz for $29.50 at Sephora)

I have been using this foundation since high school when I had really bad acne. I didn't know jack shit about makeup and the woman at my local Sephora recommended this one for me. I've purchased a few bottles of this over the years. It's shockingly a perfect match for my skin tone and does a great job of covering hyperpigmentation and other unevenness in tone. It's a medium-buildable foundation with a matte finish that supposedly has "medicated ingredients that help treat existing breakouts and keep them from coming back." I still don't really know how to read the ingredients on the back of my skincare and makeup but all I know is that this doesn't aggravate my skin. I have 30000000 foundations right now because this was apparently the summer of new foundations, so I probably won't repurchase this anytime soon, but just know that this is a fave.


Colourpop No Filter Matte Concealer (0.14 oz for $6.50 at Colourpop or Ulta)

I have tubes of this shit for days. I have three in my bathroom (brightening concealer, contour concealer, and skintone concealer), I have one in my car (which probably is not my best move), I have one in my purse, and I have one in my travel makeup pouch. PLUS backups that haven't even been opened yet. I'm so glad I can just drive to my local Ulta and pick up my shade if ever I need to. This formula is incredible, imho. But for my dry skinned girls, note that it is matte. I see a lot of people comparing this to Shape Tape, which I've never used so I can't really add my two cents. BUT a trick that I've learned over the years: use a hydrating base (I like to use my BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Moisturizer, or more recently Boscia's Skin Perfecting BB Cream with SPF 30) and this concealer which gives me a natural matte finish. This is my everyday look for days I don't feel like playing with makeup. Plus the AFFORDABILITY??? You can't beat it. Not now obviously as I have an absurd stash, but this is a definite repurchase.


Benefit Bad Gal Bang Mini Mascara (0.14 oz for $13 at Sephora)

I'm not 100% sure that this is ~empty~ per se, but I've had it for more than my 3 month cutoff, so into the trash we go (my eyes are super sensitive so I don't like to provoke them). This mascara made me fall in love with my lashes again when I tried it for the first time last summer. It added length, dramatic volume, and bold color to truly make my eyes pop with every look. I have another mini of this waiting on the sidelines, but I definitely only use this on days that I need to add more drama. Would maybe repurchase more in the future!


Body Care


I was kindly gifted this body lotion by the brand and it wasn't my first time using a body lotion by the brand so I had my guard up. My first experience wasn't great. This, unfortunately, wasn't great either. The consistency is a little too light and liquid-y for me. It didn't really sink into my skin like I like a moisturizing lotion to do. At the end of the day I mixed this with my Neutrogena Body Oil in order to give me the moisture I so desired. I definitely won't repurchase this, and am a little turned off by the rest of their body care line, but y'all know how much I adore their skincare.



*gifted

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page