top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

July Empties

How is it already August...

Skincare

Acure Ultra Hydrating Green Juice Cleanser (4 oz for $12.99, available at Acure Beauty, Whole Foods, Amazon)

This cleanser was a hit for me! I bought it because I was intrigued it's description; it's described as a "smoothie to foam" cleanser, with yummy ingredients like adaptogenic ashwaganda, holy basil, reishi, turmeric and a supergreens blend of kale, spinach, neem, and spirulina to deep clean and refresh. It has a light green-juice aroma, which dissipates as you wash it off. It never left my skin feeling tight or dry. It's a close second to my favorite Acure cleanser, the Seriously Soothing Cleansing Cream. I like the ingredients, and the price point is lovely, so I would absolutely repurchase in the future.


Indie Lee Radiance Renewal Peel* (60 peel pads for $70, available at Indie Lee)

I've had this product for a while, and I got sick of looking at it on my vanity so I tried to use them up as quickly as possible. It took me a while as I only used them twice a week, and had to stop using my other liquid exfoliants for fear of over-exfoliation. I tend to shy away from exfoliating pads in general, because I think they have a tendency to be irritating on my skin. This product is supposed to reveal a brighter, more even-toned complexion with a Vitamin C rich exfoliating blend of Java Plum and Banana extracts. Alpha Hydroxy Acids (AHAs) from Caviar Lime combine with Mango derived Beta-Carotene, Vitamin A and Glycerin to leave skin looking soft, supple and luminous. The ingredients are great, but I wasn't all that impressed with the results, especially after using them religiously for a few weeks just to empty them. It certainly is not worth it for the price point, in my opinion. I would not repurchase these.


Fazed by Nature Daisy Bright Vitamin C Serum* (1 fl oz for $30, available at Fazed by Nature)

Uwaila the founder of Fazed by Nature and a Pharm-D, was kind enough to reach out to me to try her vitamin C serum, and I was very impressed. Adding it to my routine was definitely responsible for clearing up some pesky hyperpigmentation I was experiencing. It has a slightly thicker consistency, but it absorbs pretty quickly into my skin. I had no problem layering other skincare on top of it. It is formulated to tighten, brighten, and smooth your skin. It's perfect for dark spot correction and an overall even and youthful skintone. It is described as a stabilized form of vitamin c so that oxidation is not a concern. She has additional body products in her line which I'm excited to try. I have a few vitamin c serums in line to try, but I would absolutely repurchase this serum.


Glossier Balm Dotcom in Coconut (0.5 oz for $12, available at Glossier)

I've reviewed a few variation of BDC in the past, so I won't go into detail but I haaaaated this one. I think part. of the reason was that I kept it in my purse for too long and it's hot AF here so it melted a lot. So each time I would open the tube it would be a goopy mess. It also has this fake coconut scent which lowkey makes me gag. So yeah, will not be repurchasing this flavor. BDC in general is a hit for me though!


Laneige Cica Sleeping Mask* (2 fl oz for $34, available at Sephora)

STOP WHAT YOU'RE DOING AND BUY THIS MASK. I love a sleeping mask, I put one on basically every night. The water sleeping mask is one of my all time faves, so when I saw this mask formulated with cica for sensitive skin types (which, by the way, I do not have) I had to try it. It's thicker than the water sleeping mask, which has a gel consistency whereas the cica sleeping mask has a cream consistency. It feels soooo nice on the skin though. I experienced no sensitivities or breakouts using this thick cream. I love pairing it with a squalane or a rosehip oil (my two favorite oils atm) for additional moisture. I will absolutely repurchase this mask.


OleHenriksen Find Your Balance Oil Control Cleanser (2 oz for $10, available at Sephora)

This has been my go-to cleanser for when I travel. I'm honestly surprised it took me this long to empty it as it's only a 2 oz cleanser. It's a pore-clarifying, oil-balancing cleanser that doesn't strip your skin. It pairs really well with the Balancing Force Toner (which was one of my favorites for a while). It's formulated with AHAs (glycolic and lactic acids) to help loosen dead skin cells. I would definitely repurchase this cleanser if I didn't have 10 others in my collection that I'm patiently waiting to try.


Paula's Choice 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant (4 oz for $29.50, available at Paula's Choice)

There's a reason this is a cult favorite. I've been through 4 or 5 bottles of this and I do not get tired of it. It's works really well for when my complexion is particularly congested and I need to do a reset. I do try to not over-exfoliate, so I've been using this 2 to 3 times a week at night time to get the job done. This is a forever repurchase.


Supergoop Defense Refresh (Re)Setting Mist SPF 40 (1 fl oz for $14, available at Supergoop, Sephora, Dermstore)

I've definitely discussed this product in an earlier blog post, because I've gone through a couple of the travel sized resetting mists already. They're perfect for on-the-go, especially if you've got a face full of makeup. I like to keep one near me when I'm working, because it helps me to remember to use it. I think this is a must-have for easy sunscreen reapplication for during the day. I have a couple back-ups already, so I won't currently repurchase but will in the future.


Vichy Hyaluronic Acid Serum (1.69 oz for $29.50 available at Ulta and Amazon)

I bought this HA on a whim after seeing it on a few of my fellow blogger's feeds, and I was not disappointed. It has a lightweight, almost gel-like texture that absorbs quickly and definitely makes my skin feel supple. It has no scent, and I love that it comes in a pump to ensure that no product is wasted. It's a little more expensive than I'm used to spending on an HA, but by my standards it's a quality product, and I loved how my skin looks after continued use. Will repurchase.



Haircare

Briogeo Curl Charisma Rice Amino + Shea Curl Defining Conditioner* (8 oz for $24, available at Briogeo and Sephora)

I truly enjoyed this conditioner, but the only thing I didn't understand is why this conditioner is the same size as the shampoo... Lord knows I need double the conditioner for my locks vs the amount of shampoo I use. And I feel like Nancy should know that too... Sephora sells a value size of 33 oz for double the price, which I feel is more reasonable. Do I think that I would pay that much for this conditioner? Probably.


Briogeo Scalp Revival Charcoal + Tea Tree Scalp Treatment Serum* (1 oz for $32, available at Briogeo and Sephora)

My scalp ATE this treatment up. I used it a little bit more after I put my box braids back in, to stop flakiness and dryness. It is such a lovely formula--it feels instantly cooling on the scalp, and my scalp felt less itchy than normal after applying this oil. I tend to apply it every other night before bed and it truly worked wonders. It's a little pricey for the amount of product, and I'm sure there are a lot of products in the beauty supply that do the same thing for much cheaper, but I would definitely repurchase. Black owned + Nancy is my inspiration.




(*PR GIFTED)



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page