top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

June Empties

Y'all know what time it is. Let's jump right in.


Skincare:


Fourth Ray Beauty After Hours Detox Oil (0.5 oz for $10 at Fourth Ray Beauty)

This product is amazing for my skin-type (oily/acne-prone) with ingredients like tea tree, salicylic acid, and bamboo charcoal to detox congested skin. I like to use this during my nighttime routine around that time of the month when my skin gets the most congested. I honestly think it helps in minimizing inflammation, and I'm impressed by the $10 price point. It also smells divine. I went ahead and picked up a backup of this when I was about halfway through the bottle. It lasted me about 4 months with consistent usage. People tend to say that the packaging is a little finnicky with the Fourth Ray oils because you have to turn them all the way over and wait for a few seconds before the oil starts flowing. Which I guess if you need that instant gratification could be a little annoying. It's not a big deal for me, just FYI.


The Inkey List Hyaluronic Acid Serum (1 oz for $7.99 at Sephora)

The Inkey List hopped on the scene with their ridiculously affordable skincare, and I absolutely ate it up. I am semi-new to HA serums, so this was the second one I had ever used after Fourth Ray's Rainfall. I appreciate the Inkey List's HA way more. It's not sticky, it absorbs very quickly into the skin, and I can tell that my skin is way more hydrated and plump after using it consistently for about a month and a half. The only cons with this product are how little an amount you get, and the packaging. I wish it was a dropper instead, which would make it a little bit easier to control the flow of product. But for $7.99, you bet I will continue to purchase this.


Neutrogena Hydroboost Extra Dry Skin Gel Cream (1.7 oz for $16.99 at Target)

I was perusing Target with my toddler one day, not paying 100% attention to what I was doing and accidentally picked up the Extra Dry version of this moisturizer by accident. I don't have extra dry skin so I was a little worried that this might not be for me. But it's honestly not that different from the original version. It's incredibly lightweight, absorbs really quickly and doesn't leave me looking or feeling greasy, and is perfect for the climate that I live in. I love that it's fragrance free and has HA in it to keep my skin moisturized. I won't repurchase the extra dry version, but the original is a holy grail for me, so that's a definite repurchase.


OleHenriksen Banana Bright Eye Creme (0.5 oz for $38 at Sephora)

I'm not going to go into this one because y'all should already know that this is an instant repurchase, and no eye cream has measured up to this one since I've started to use it (even though it's hella expensive). Do yourselves a favor and try a sample or two. You won't regret it.


OleHenriksen Find Your Balance Oil Control Cleanser (5 oz for $26 or 2 oz for $10 at Sephora)

I've had this cleanser for a looooong time now. I probably got it a year and a half ago and only use it during the summer months when I'm noticeably oilier than usual. It's a great cleanser. It leaves my skin feeling clean without feeling stripped of my natural oils even though it is a "mattifying" cleanser. My skin has been considerably less oily since I started incorporating HA routinely, so I don't think I would repurchase this as I have a million other cleansers that I need to get through.


Pixi Beauty Rose Ceramide Cream (1.69 oz for $24 at Target)

This was my very first Pixi Beauty product that I've ever tried. I won it in a giveaway and was certainly never intending to use it. I opened it and the texture is much thicker than something I would use in a moisturizer. But one day I was feeling adventurous, decided to spot test, had no irritation, so I continued to use it. It's infused with rose oil and ceramides (which is an ingredient that I had to look up) to deeply hydrate the skin. It does have a slight rosy-fragrance, but it's nothing too overpowering. I just used a tiiiiiiny amount to cover my full face as the last step in my nighttime routine. I did appreciate how much more glowy I looked in the morning post-application. I'm sad to see this product go, but I don't think it'll be an immediate repurchase for me.


Trader Joe's Rose Water Facial Toner (4 fl oz for $4 at Trader Joe's)

I feel like I run through a facial spray each month, and this month it was TJ's Rose Water Facial Toner. I definitely didn't use it as a toner so much as a refresher spray for during the day. I loved keeping this in the fridge and spraying it when I needed it. It didn't make my skin feel more dry after using it. It definitely has a strong rosy scent, which I could have done without, but overall I liked the product. Don't know that I would repurchase since I have a ton of other facial sprays to get through, but I am in love with the price point of this one.


Versed Keep It Supple Body Oil (4 fl oz for $14.99 at Target)

I RAN THROUGH THIS BODY OIL Y'ALL. I couldn't believe how quickly I used it up. It is ah-mazing. I love the fact that it's in a spray bottle for easy application, and the oil is incredibly lightweight so it absorbs on your skin easily. I apply it immediately post-shower on wet skin and pat dry. Usually body oils aren't moisturizing enough for me and I have to add an additional lotion on top. I don't have to do that with this product! The scent is very subtle, and it reminds me of summertime. Needless to say, I'm definitely repurchasing this product.


Makeup:


Hourglass Caution Extreme Lash Mascara (0.33 oz for $29 or 0.19 oz for $14)

I got a sample size of this last summer, and loved it so much that I went ahead and bought the mini size. It adds dramatic length and volume with just one coat (and I didn't curl my lashes first, mind you), it doesn't clump, and it dries pretty quickly. Plus Hourglass's packaging is some of my favorite. It is most similar to Bad Gal Bang's mascara, if that's a helpful association for you guys. I have a few other mascaras to get through first, so I won't immediately repurchase this as I don't wear mascara daily.


Milk Makeup Kush Mascara (0.34 oz for $24 or 0.13 oz for $12)

I love the brush of this mascara. It gives me fuller looking lashes but keeps them looking natural. It also feels very lightweight, and doesn't smudge at all. I like that this brush can accommodate both my top and bottom lashes without making a huge mess. I haven't repurchased this because, like I said before, I tend not to use mascara everyday, and I have a couple of staples that I stand by right now. But if you're looking for thicker yet natural looking lashes, I would totally recommend this one. I won't immediately repurchase this either because of my other mascaras I have to get through but I love this!


Loreal Voluminous Mascara Primer (0.24 oz for $6 at Target)

I bought this on a whim way back in the day because I love the Voluminous Mascara so much. I used it once and then never used it again and it's easily been on my vanity for over a year and a half. It coats my lashes with this weird white paste that when I add black mascara over it makes my lashes look gray. I would never ever recommend this to anyone. If anyone has any lash primer that they swear by let a girl know, cuz I'm in the market for one.



And that's it! If you made it this far, let me know and I'll shout you out on IG. Love you guys!

💘

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page