top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

November Empties

These are all of the things that I finished in November (I didn't necessarily start them all in November, FYI)


Skincare:

Burt's Bees Herbal Complexion Stick (between $7 and $9 depending on where you buy for 0.26 oz): I constantly repurchase these. I think this is my fifth or sixth vial of this stuff. It is made with ten herbal ingredients, like tea tree, juniper oil, willow bark and calendula which work naturally with your skin to calm inflammation. I use this whenever I see or feel a blemish forming. It works it's magic to diminish your inflammation in just a few hours. The roll on makes it incredibly portable, and it goes on clear so no one can even tell that it's there. It does have a strong scent, but it's not overwhelming or overpowering and subsides in like five minutes or less. I'm curious to see how this compares to the Glossier Zit Stick.


Glossier Invisible Shield ($25 for 1 fl oz): I bought this baby back in July and I'm just now running out of it, even after using it every day, religiously for two moths. I usually use three pumps a day in the morning post moisturizer, and this stuff doesn't have a scent, goes on clear (no white cast), isn't greasy, and is SPF 35. It works pretty well under makeup, but I don't know that I'll be buying this again anytime soon just because I'm in love with everything Supergoop these days. Unseen Sunscreen has my heart, and at $32 for 1.7 fl oz, it's a better deal. And Unseen is also SPF 40 🤷🏾‍♀️.


Mario Badescu Facial Spray ($7 for 4 fl oz; $5 for 2 fl oz): I go through these like nobody's business. At the beach? Spritz. By the pool? Spritz. Just took off a face mask? Spritz. Makeup setting spray to help my makeup looked more lived in? Spritz. I even think myself a little obnoxious whenever I use them. But I can't help it. I love the way they smell and the way they hydrate my face if only for a little while. And they make me feel extra. Obviously it makes more financial sense to get the bigger sizes of the facial sprays, sometimes Ulta just gets me in line with their stupid mini section. These come in three varieties so far: Green Tea, Lavender, and your classic Rosewater. My favorite has to be the Green Tea one, followed closely by Lavender which I tend to use at nighttime because it smells so lovely, and then the original Rosewater. If you haven't tried these out, I suggest you do! They're so very nice.


Sol de Janeiro Mini Bum Bum Cream ($20 for 2.5 oz): This was my first intro into Bum Bum Cream and I'm gonna admit it took me a while to get used to the smell. At first it was too vanilla-y for me (I recently learned it's a pistachio caramel scent), but after a few uses I grew to love it. It reminds me of vacation now, and I love to put it on in the morning post-shower. It's supposed to give you a nice glow and firmness, and I haven't really noticed that, so I don't think I'll be repurchasing anytime soon.


Thayer's Witch Hazel Rosewater Toner (~$9 for 12 fl oz): I think this is the holy grail toner for a reason. This shiz popped off in the last couple of years even though it's been around forever. The toner is gentle and hydrating, and usually when I hear the word toner I immediately think that it's going to dry out my skin. Not here my friend. It also has a slight rosy smell which I love, and I have seen a dramatic difference in the tone of my face. It's drastically more even then when I first started using this a year and a half. I think this is my fifth bottle, and I always have a backup for my backup because I can't afford to lose this stuff. Ever. They also come in different varieties, but Rose Petal is the only one I've tried so far.



Makeup:

Benefit BADgal BANG! Volumizing Mascara (Standard Size, $25; Mini Size, $13): This was a sample sized mascara that I had gotten with one of the many Sephora orders over the last few months. I used it once and fell in love. I am not a mascara snob. I've said it in the past and I'll say it again, as long as mascara lengthens and sort of curls my lashes and has a pretty quick drying time, I'm set. I usually don't buy full size mascaras, but I immediately purchased a few mini sizes so this could become my go to. It doesn't flake, it doesn't smudge, and it makes me look way more alive than I would on a regular day.


Laura Mercier Foundation Primer Blemish-Less ($38 for 1.7 oz): This was the very first primer that was recommended to me by a friend. It's oil-free and water based, so it's extremely lightweight and blurs pores really nicely. This tube also lasted me a really long time. At $38 I probably wouldn't repurchase as there are other high and low end primers that I appreciate a lot more, but it was nice to try!


Loreal Lash Paradise Waterproof Mascara ($9.99 [on sale at Ulta right now for $6.99]): I really like this mascara. It reminds me a lot of Too Faced's Better than Sex, but this one smudges, so you have to be careful when you rub your eyes. It comes in four shades, and also in a non-waterproof formula if that's more your style. For a fraction of the price of Better than Sex, I'll probably rebuy this.


Marc Jacobs Gel Highliner in Blacquer 42 ($25 for 0.01 oz [lmao]): I got a couple of these as 100 point perks a few months ago, and I'm not gonna lie, this bougie ass eyeliner is very very very nice. Eyeliner is the one thing I will not leave the house without. Seriously. I've felt this way since high school. Would I spend $25 again for an eyeliner that does what other eyeliners do for an incredibly absurd markup? Mayyyyyybe. Depending on my mood. But I did love this.


Urban Decay De-Slick Makeup Setting Spray ($15 for 1 oz, $32 for 4 oz): I bought this on a whim way back in the day and as soon as I used it, I knew that I had found my setting spray from heaven. And this is even after I had tried Urban Decay's All Nighter. I tend to get oily between 2 and 3 hours after makeup application because I live in Florida and someone up there probably hates me. Not with this stuff. No shine, no oil, no NOTHING for at least 8 hours. I have already repurchased this in a full size and mini size to carry with me on the go. If you've got oily skin, this is for you.


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page