top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

October Empties 🗑

Empties posts seem to be my most popular blog posts, so thank you for reading! Here's what I finished in October.


Skincare:

Acure Seriously Soothing Cleansing Cream* (4 fl oz for $10 [prices vary] at Acure, Target, Whole Foods, Amazon)

The Seriously Soothing line by Acure has quickly become my favorite. It can be used by all skin types, but it's more specifically catered to sensitive skin. I don't have sensitive skin personally in the least but I enjoy this cleanser a lot. The Soothing Cleansing Cream is formulated with argan oil, chamomile, peony extract & sunflower amino acids. It has a thick cream texture, and only slightly lathers on your skin. But it leaves the skin feeling oh so soft. Those with dry skin will really love this option. I received this via PR almost 6 months ago and I'm just getting through it now. So it'll last you a long time! I have a million other cleansers to get through at the moment, so it won't be an immediate repurchase, but this is such a great affordable option by one of my favorite brands.


Acure Seriously Soothing Cloud Cream (1.7 fl oz for $19 [prices vary] at Acure, Target, Whole Foods, Amazon)

This was one of my first Acure purchases ever. I had just gotten my first chemical peel, and my esthetician recommended that I use a gentle moisturizer & a facial oil to combat the eminent peeling. I had picked this up on a whim along with their Blue Tansy Night Oil. Hear me when I say, this moisturizer is so nice. It has a whipped cream type texture and you only need a pea size amount for your face. I use it mixed with two drops of the night oil and the combination is heavenly. There's really no other way to describe it. I did not need to purchase this moisturizer because I have way too many open at the moment, but I went on Amazon and reordered it because I physically feel like I cannot be without it. Phew. Strong sentiments. I highly highly highly recommend. Especially for this upcoming winter season!


Acure Brightening Super Greens Serum (1 fl oz for $19 [prices vary] at Acure, Target, Whole Foods, Amazon)

I picked this up at Target as a replacement for my Acure Brightening Glowing Serum. It's formulated with kale, spirulina, chlorella, broccoli seed oil, and rose seed oil, hence the super greens name. It feels more like an oil than a serum, but it's lightweight, absorbs very quickly, and it really does give you a gorgeous glow. For my oily skin girls though, be sure to only use one pump because otherwise you'll go from natural glow to oil slick. I probably won't repurchase solely because I use it more as a facial oil, and I have a million other oils to get through at the moment.


Colourpop Lippie Scrub (0.53 oz for $8 at Colourpop)

I personally don't think you need to spend ridiculous amounts of money on a lip scrub. Being that it's mostly just sugar. This one definitely has fragrance in it because it smells like coconut (I picked up the shade Coco Loco). It's just okay. I use lip scrub every other day for the most part before I apply a balm or a lipstick, so I went through this fairly quickly. I don't think I'll repurchase this because I have two of Bite's Agave Lip Scrubs on backup (which are suuuper expensive, btw. It's REALLY NICE, don't get me wrong, and you can tell the quality is better from something like Colourpop's, and I really only buy because I feel like it's my personal duty to support Bite Beauty). There are five flavors to choose from & Colourpop is having a 20% off sale right now so if you're interested at getting this at a discount, I would look into it!


Heimish All Clean Balm (4 fl oz for ~$16 on Amazon)

This was the first cleansing balm I ever tried!! I've used a ton of different types of cleansing oils, and kept seeing this one pop on my IG, so I found it on Amazon and was happy with the price point and figured I'd try it. It's really quite amazing! The consistency is buttery and emulsifies to remove makeup very well. I'd say it removes 85% of my makeup when I'm in full beat (I follow with a micellar water to remove the rest before my second cleanse) and 100% of my makeup when it's a minimal makeup day. I have no problem rubbing it over my eyelids either--it doesn't burn or cause any irritation. It's gentle and can be used on all skin types. It leaves my skin feeling clean, soft and supple which is always a plus. It doesn't smell like anything in my opinion, even though it's formulated with citrus herb oil, shea butter, and coconut extract. If you're new to cleansing balms I would definitely recommend this one! I'm currently using Grace & Stella's F Balm, This Works which is trash (literally removes nothing, just moves makeup around on my face 🙄). I also have a Good Molecule's Instant Cleansing Balm to try next, so I won't immediately repurchase Heimish.


The Inkey List Hyaluronic Acid (1 oz for $7.99 at Sephora)

Another month, another Inkey List HA I've run through. I already have two more backups. So yeah, a forever repurchase. @THEINKEYLIST, IF YOU'RE READING THIS, MAKE A LARGER SIZE.


Okay, so I won this product in a giveaway, and had heard so much hype about it that I was stoked to try it. It's a dual-action exfoliator that smoothes and polishes skin to reveal a natural glow; lactic acid and fruit enzymes work to clean clogged pores in as little as one use. You're supposed to leave it on for two minutes and let it work its magic, and then gently rinse off. I noticed not a single iota of a difference after using this product twice a week (like it suggested) for around 3 weeks. I saw more of a difference using the OH PHAt Glow Facial after one use. This product was straight up ineffective on me. It's a no for me, dog.

Mario Badescu Lip Balm (0.35 oz $8 at Sephora and Ulta)

I really love this lip balm. It's thicc and makes my lips feel moisturized and look more plump and slightly glossy without feeling sticky. It's formulated with cocoa butter, sweet almond oil, and coconut oil. It doesn't last too long but I truly don't mind reapplying lip balm or lip gloss throughout the day. Unless I have to do so every 30 minutes. But I can get by reapplying this one every 3 hours or so. They also have other varieties that I haven't tried, like Mint and Rose. I have friends that I've recommended this to that use it as a nighttime lip mask. A great everyday balm that I would definitely repurchase.


Paula's Choice 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant (4 fl oz for $29.50 at Paula's Choice but they literally always have sales including 15% off right now and if I'm not mistaken, some of your faves [tagged below] have PC discount codes)

Biiiiiiiitch. Just do yourself a favor and purchase this product. You know if the likes of Abiola (@skinwithabiola), Sean (@seangarrette), Ashley (@skinclasshero), Funmi (@skincaregoalsAF)... legit ALL OF YOUR FAVES are raving about it? You stop drop and roll right to Paula's Choice website to get it. I am not joking when I say that this product has dramatically transformed my skin. I use it twice daily as it is gentle enough to do so, but you just have to know your skin. It's formulated with 2% salicylic acid, which is the most effective BHA for my skin personally. It works to unclog pores, remove dead skin cells, and brighten & even out your skin tone. I absolutely understand why this is one of their most popular products. I love that the price point is very reasonable which makes it accessible to most. I'm already on the auto replenishment program to get this product every two months because I know I cannot be without it.


Makeup:

Becca First Light Priming Filter (1 oz for $39 at Sephora and Ulta)

This is described as a "hydrating, color-neutralizing primer that creates the look of healthy, even skin tone with a natural finish". Let's just say Becca was not thinking about us dark-skinned girls when they formulated this product. This leaves such a ghostly white cast I can't even believe it. It also washes out my makeup when I apply it, which only makes it worse. I gave this baby two separate chances and each time I was incredibly unimpressed. Will not be repurchasing.


Hourglass Vanish Seamless Foundation Stick (0.25 oz for $46 at Sephora)

This was the product that made me fall in love with foundation sticks. It's a full coverage foundation that flawlessly conceals everything that I don't love about my skin. It feels virtually weightless and I was shocked that I was shade matched correctly on the first try. You don't need a lot of product to cover your full face either, and it doesn't oxidize (at least not on me)! This product is recommended to be used with their foundation brush, but I find that a damp beauty sponge works beautifully as well. The only thing that sucks is the amount of product you get for the price. But it's Hourglass so I can't even pretend to be surprised. I don't think that I'll repurchase because I have a couple of foundation sticks that I'm loving right now (Colourpop's No Filter Foundation Stick & Milk Makeup's Flex Foundation Stick) but I truly did enjoy this foundation.


Smashbox Studio Skin Flawless 24 Hour Concealer* (0.27 oz for $24 at Sephora and Ulta)

This product was gifted via Influenster (the wrong shade of course) but formula wise, it's just okay. It's described as a 24-hour long lasting concealer with medium-buildable coverage that color corrects under eye circles and conceals without creasing or settling into fine lines. I'm going to be honest that I didn't even really give this a try because I could not get over how made the shade was compared to my skin. I had to take it off and re-do all my makeup because I just couldn't. Couldn't even use it as a contour either--such a waste. It did a pretty good job of covering hyperpigmentation; I did have to go over some spots more than once, so the buildable claim did stick. I wouldn't spend this much money for this concealer though, I'll stick with my Nars Soft Matte or my CP No Filter. Will not repurchase.


*PR/gifted



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page