top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

Reviews of New & Current Skincare Stash

The Inkey List Hyaluronic Acid Serum: I had seen this new brand the Inkey List popping up all over IG, and when I had a chance to check them out for myself I was shocked to find their ingredients were simple and their price point was right up my alley. So I immediately ordered a couple of products (and during the Sephora sale, nonetheless, so the prices were even lower). I had never used a pure HA serum before, and I figured this would be a great foray into the ingredient. My Neutrogena Hydro Boost moisturizer is packed with HA and my skin loves it, so I figured adding another product with it couldn't hurt. The first thing to note about the product is that the bottle is tiiiiiiny. It's an oz. of product for $7.99, which is phenomenal--but in the couple of weeks that I've been using it I'd say I'm halfway through the bottle already. The description on the website says that it targets dry skin, reduces the look of fine lines, and visibly plumps. I use two to three drops of this serum morning and night, and it absorbs beautifully and doesn't feel sticky or tacky in any way. It makes my skin feel very moisturized and definitely look more supple post-application. I used it the entire time I was traveling to North Carolina, and travel usually does terrible things to my skin. I had not one breakout the entire trip, and I honestly think that this product helped keep my skin in check. I just got Fourth Ray Beauty's Rainfall in the mail and I'm curious to see how the two products compare. I'm already planning on buying a second bottle of this serum, and it's always fun to find new staples that won't break the bank.


The Inkey List Caffeine Eye Cream: I've been on an eye cream kick, and products with caffeine in them automatically pique my interest. The tube holds 0.5 oz of product for $9.99 and contains caffeine, Beautifeye, and Matrixyl 3000 peptide (which I assume are two plumping and hydrating ingredients that the Inkey List has trademarked). I love the consistency of this product; it's somewhere in between a gel and a cream. It does a pretty good job at reducing puffiness, which I unfortunately suffer from in the mornings. It's also moderately hydrating, but not as hydrating as my Ole Banana Bright Eye Creme or Glossier's Bubble Wrap (which I'll get to if you keep reading 😉). All in all, it's a pretty good eye cream if you're new to eye creams and suffer from a little bit of puffiness or dark circles. Not sure if I would buy it again, but I would definitely recommend it to newbies.


The Ordinary Vitamin C Suspension 23% + HA Spheres 2%: So this is my very first Ordinary product... ever. I love products with Vitamin C in it, and as a new lover of HA, I figured I had to give this one a try. You get one oz of product for $5.80 which is W I L D. The thing about the Ordinary products... they don't really tell you how to use them, you sort of have to figure out for yourself where you want to add their products into your routine. The two things that I got from my research was that this product is not for sensitive skin types because it stings (I don't have sensitive skin and it still stings me), and the texture is somewhat gritty. With this information, I decided to dilute a pea sized amount of this product with a thick nighttime moisturizer 2-3 times per week (I use Acure Beauty's Cloud Cream) just to get my skin used to it before I started to use it every night. I've been using it for about 2 weeks now and have noticed a brighter complexion and my face feels smoother than it's been for a while. There's definitely a trial and error with this product, so proceed with caution.


Glossier Bubble Wrap Eye and Lip Cream: When Glossier had the audacity to drop an eye cream, I laughed it off because I love my Banana Bright Eye Cream so much, and I did not need this product. Well eff me, because I visited their Miami pop-up one more time before they closed, and got to try it out in person. The packaging was the first thing to get me, which is Glossier's specialty--it comes in this adorable sort of tin spray bottle and just looks incredibly millennial and minimalistic. There's 0.74 oz of product in the bottle for $26, which in my opinion, is good but not great. It has a lightweight texture but it's shockingly hydrating. It contains ingredients like HA, squalene, blueberry extract, and avocado oil to plump, smooth, and make the eye area appear more open and awake. I use half a pump between both of my eyes because it definitely gives off a dewy vibe, which I'm not used to. It wears nicely underneath concealer for me, and I haven't had any problems with pilling. I always forget this is a two-in-one product (you can also use this on your lips) but I haven't done that yet, nor do I plan to. All in all, I love the hydration that this adds to the under-eye area.

Indie Lee Radiance Renewal Peel Pads*: These pads were kindly gifted to me by the brand, and I've been loving them! I usually tend to gravitate away from pads because I find them to be too rough for my skin/or don't really result in any crazy change in my skin tone and texture. Indie Lee, a clean beauty brand, uses ingredients that your skin will thank you for, and this product is a perfect example of that. Formulated with banana, mango, glycolic acid, java plum (rich in vitamins A & C), caviar lime (rich in vitamin C), this product works to reveal a brighter, more even-toned complexion. I have been using 1 pad about 2 to 3 times a week after cleansing, and I love how gentle it feels on my skin, and I've noticed the most natural glow right after use. She ain't cheap though... 60 pads retail for $70 on their website. But I am definitely a new stan of Indie Lee (the CoQ-10 toner is a new must have in my routine; I won't go back to any other toner now), and their products are gentle and effective.

Indie Lee Purifying Face Wash*: This cleanser was also kindly gifted to me by the brand. It's an antioxidant-rich foaming cleanser that works to remove makeup and other impurities from the skin without stripping of natural oils. It is gentle enough to be used on all skin types, and contains more of those skin-loving ingredients I'm always looking for in my products. Java Plum, Orange and Lavender extracts soothe the skin while dissolving excess sebum. Clove, Burdock and Mandarin promote a clearer, brighter complexion. Rose Damascena and Jasmine ensure skin feels soft and supple, never tight. This cleanser retails for $34 for 125 mL, which I think is a standard price for higher-end skincare. I think this is a nice cleanser, but I don't know that I would go out of my way to repurchase when I'm done with it. I am more interested in their Brightening Cleanser, which I might pick up next time!


Acure Beauty Lemonade Cleansing Clay*: I have been waiting a while to try this product and was so incredibly grateful when Acure gifted it to me! It's part of their Incredibly Clear line which is great for those with acneic or oily skin. It's got a clay-like texture formulated with charcoal, volcanic lava, and lemon to detoxify and revive dull skin leaving behind an ultra-smooth finish. I'm a big fan of products with charcoal, and I love the inclusion of lemon to brighten while also purifying. It's $12.99 for 4 fl oz, which you cannot beat. Acure has some of the most effective/most affordable products on the market!!! Know that!

Acure Beauty Seriously Soothing Cleansing Cream*: It's no secret that I love Acure's Seriously Soothing line--their Cloud Cream and their Blue Tansy Night Oil are two of my most repurchased skincare products...ever. So I wasn't surprised when I used this for the first time and loved it. It's made with ingredients to soothe and hydrate your skin like peony extract, chamomile, argan oil, and sunflower amino acids. The texture is creamy and feels like clouds which is how all their other products in this line feel. It retails for $9.99 for 4 fl oz...another ridiculously affordable price.

Acure Beauty Blue Tansy Serum Stick*: This was the product I was genuinely most excited to receive from them. My favorite product, in stick form. Perfect for on the go, travel, etc. I glide it over my skin and then gently tap the excess into my skin. It's formulated with blue tansy and hyaluronic acid--two products that my skin literally drinks up. It makes my skin look healthy and glowing but sinks in almost immediately. They just came out with a Radically Rejuvenating Serum Stick that I'm dying to get my hands on next! Both sticks retail for $18.99 for 1 oz of product. Definitely two of their pricier products, but still not breaking the bank. I'm here for it!!





*gifted


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page