top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

September Empties 🗑


Skincare

Indie Lee Co-Q10 Toner (4.2 fl oz for $34 at Sephora)

High key this product makes me so happy. It's an alcohol free toner that hydrates, soothes, and protects from environmental stressors with coenzyme Q10 and hyaluronic acid. It really is hydrating--I love to spray my face with this before and after I mask or use a physical or chemical exfoliant in my routine. I've already repurchased a backup (this is the third bottle that I've been through), and even though it's a little pricey, it's genuinely worth it. You can find travel sizes on Indie Lee's website, or you can buy their Discovery Kit, which has mini sizes of three of their best sellers (including this toner).


The Inkey List Hyaluronic Acid Serum (1 fl oz for $7.99 at Sephora)

I've lost count of how many bottles of this I've been through. I'm pretty sure this has been in my empties posts for the last three months. Granted, I think I go through it quicker than I should because my partner has decided that he loves it as well. And we use it morning and night most days. INKEY, WE NEED A BIGGER SIZE. LIKE A FOUR OUNCER. Needless to say, this is my current favorite HA serum. It's not sticky, sinks into the skin quickly and instantly makes it more supple. Plus, the price point? Unbeatable. Definitely a repurchase.


Bioderma Sebium Micellar Water (8.33 fl oz for $10 at Amazon)

Bioderma makes my favorite micellar waters. I bought this I think the end of last year to use during the warmer months, and this bottle has lasted me forever. This specific one is formulated for combo/oily skin and effectively removes most of my tough makeup while keeping my skin hydrated. I also like to swipe this over my face with a cotton round after my first cleanse specifically on days where I'm in full-beat makeup. I was just gifted the micellar water from the sensitive line, and I'm excited to pop that baby open! I also got a couple of the mini bottles for free during an Ipsy event for Swim Week, so I'm pretty set on these for now. Would repurchase!


Fourth Ray BFD Cleansing Oil (4.15 fl oz for $14 at Fourth Ray Beauty)

Love love love love love this cleansing oil. This is the second bottle that I've been through. I would say it takes off about 75% of my tough makeup and gives my skin that good clean feeling. It's formulated with calming ingredients like camellia, juniper berry, and meadowfoam seed oil which are nutrient-rich antioxidants. I haven't repurchased this as of yet because I have three brand new cleansing balms to get through atm 😅, but once I'm out, this is a definite repurchase.


Fourth Ray Rainfall Hyaluronic Acid Serum (1 fl oz for $15 at Fourth Ray Beauty)

This was my first foray into the world of HA, and since the world of Colourpop has me wrapped around their little finger, I pretty much purchased it as soon as it dropped. But... it's not my favorite. It's a thiqq formula, which isn't a bad thing per se, but it's also a little bit sticky and leaves my skin feeling tackier than I'd like. The Inkey List definitely makes a better HA formula for a slightly better price. Not going to repurchase.


Krave Beauty Great Barrier Relief Serum (1.35 oz for $28 at Krave Beauty)

Ok, ok, ok, ok, ok, ok. I was late to the Krave game, but when they dropped the Great Barrier Relief serum, I ordered it immediately. I knew that it was a serum made for me, and me only (sorry heauxs). It works to replenish your damaged skin barrier (and I've been known to overexfoliate every once in a while) with ingredients that replenish what your skin lacks. I've noticed that my skin just looks healthier after persistent use of this product. Healthier, and with less breakouts! And with every purchase of this serum, some of the proceeds go towards protecting the Great Barrier Reef!!! We stan an environmentally conscious, clean skincare brand! This is my third bottle, so hell yes. I am repurchasing.


Krave Beauty The Beet Shield Sunscreen (1.69 fl oz for $20 at Krave Beauty)

This is one of the nicest sunscreens I've ever tried. It's got a serum-like texture that absorbs almost instantly while leaving a natural and healthy glow. It contains beetroot extract, vitamin c, and allantoin (which I had no idea what it is, but apparently it "soothes skin and relieves skin irritation", so I'm about it). I honestly think it slightly blurs my pores. It is a gorgeous base underneath makeup, with my favorite combo being this sunscreen, a tinted moisturizer or a BB cream, and a natural looking highlighter. A three step face! I have a million sunscreens that I need to get through atm because SPF is my new vice, but when I'm running low on my stock, this will definitely be a repurchase.


I will sing this night oil's praises for the rest of my life. It's the most gorgeous blue-tinted lightweight oil that soothes all my inflammation when I have a breakout. I haven't repurchased this yet because I have a lot of other facial oils I need to get into, but like the Krave sunscreen, when I'm running low on my stock, this will definitely be a repurchase.


I sort of forgot that I had this in my collection, so it dried out before I actually emptied it, so it's not a ~true~ empty. But I really enjoyed using it! It's formulated with seaweed to reduce imperfections, yuzu lemon to smooth rough skin, eucalyptus to absorb oil, red algae to unclog pores, and charcoal to brighten dark skin. Apply an even layer to your skin, leave it for 10-15 minutes, and then wash off! It's a pretty great option for a cheap detox mask, although I won't repurchase this at the moment.


Makeup

Colourpop Precision Brow Pencil (0.09g for $5.50 at Colourpop)

I've gone through 3 or 4 of these so far, and I think as I've gotten better at doing my brows, I've gradually come to love this product. When I first tried it, I was trash, and kept making itty bitty mistakes and my brows would never look even close to similar. Sisters? Yeah right. How about third cousins twice removed? But now I love how tiny the tip is, which definitely adds to the precision factor. The formula isn't completely waterproof, but it's long wearing, which I'm into. I also think this is a pretty close dupe for the Benefit Precisely My Brow (which is a cult favorite for good reason) for a fraction of the price. Repurchase.


Colourpop No Filter Matte Concelear (0.14oz for $6.50 at Colourpop)

I have tubes of this shit for days. I have three in my bathroom (brightening concealer, contour concealer, and skintone concealer), I have one in my car (which probably is not my best move), I have one in my purse, and I have one in my travel makeup pouch. PLUS backups that haven't even been opened yet. I'm so glad I can just drive to my local Ulta and pick up my shade if ever I need to. This formula is incredible, imho. But for my dry skinned girls, note that it is a true matte. I see a lot of people comparing this to Shape Tape, which I've never used so I can't really add my two cents. BUT a trick that I've learned over the years: use a hydrating base (I like to use my BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Moisturizer, or more recently Boscia's Skin Perfecting BB Cream with SPF 30) and this concealer which gives me a natural matte finish. This is my everyday look for days I don't feel like playing with makeup. Plus the AFFORDABILITY??? You can't beat it. Not now obviously as I have an absurd stash, but this is a definite repurchase.


Colourpop All Star Mattifying Face Primer (0.88 oz for $10 at Colourpop)

This is really just an okay primer. Sure, it blurs pores and I didn't have any problems with layering makeup on top, but I don't know that it made my face more matte. I would consider this closer to hydrating primer. Maybe it's because my skin is super oily to begin with, but I'm not impressed. I'm curious to compare this to Colourpop's new Hyaluronic Hydrating Primer which I just got in the mail. Won't be repurchasing.


Body Care

Trader Joe's Moisturizing Cream Shave in Honey Mango (8 fl oz for $4 at Trader Joes)

I drive 20 miles to my local Trader Joes just to grab a couple of these bad boys. Yes, my local TJ's is nowhere near me 😭, and yes, this product is absolutely worth the trek. The honey mango scent is intoxicating, and the formula itself is divine. It's incredibly simplistic, like most TJ's products, but somehow super luxurious. I don't know how they do it, but I will forever repurchase. It's the only shave cream I use!


And that's it for September! If you've made it this far, I so appreciate you taking the time to read my thoughts! Love ya'll.


-xx

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page