top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

Summer Beauty Must Haves

It's the 3rd day of summer and it is hot. Like 90 degrees when I wake up at 7:30am, hot. I truly pray it's not as scorching where you are as it is here because it's borderline miserable. Alas, I do plan to spend a good amount of my summer in the sun--whether it be at the beach, by the pool, or taking my little one to the park after camp. These are the products that I'll be wearing all summer long, and products I would definitely recommend to my friends and family. The end goal (and forever goal, tbh) is to look like a glowing goddess without looking like my face is melting off. Read on if you're curious about my ideal summer products!


Skincare:

Versed Dew Point Moisturizing Gel Cream (2 fl oz for $14.99, Target)

This moisturizer is made for all skin types, formulated with green tea extract & aloe leaf juice to soothe skin, fight free radicals, and reduce inflammation in the skin. It's an incredibly lightweight but hydrating product (it contains an ingredient similar to HA called sodium hyaluronate intended for moisture retention). It reminds me a lot of my favorite Neutrogena Hydroboost moisturizer. I love using lightweight moisturizers in the summer because they absorb very quickly, don't feel heavy on the skin, and I have no problem layering additional product on top. Versed seems to be a great brand from what I've experienced so far, and I'm a big fan of affordable yet effective skincare.

Versed Vacation Eyes Brightening Eye Gel (0.5 fl oz for $17.99, Target)

I am an eye cream junkie these days, so I was all over this product as soon as I saw it. It's formulated with Vitamin C, ginseng, and niacinamide to brighten, and coffee extract to combat dark circles. The gel formula gives you a cooling sensation on contact which is incredibly refreshing, especially first thing in the morning. I have definitely noticed a reduction in puffiness that I occasionally wake up with when I use this product. All in all, a solid product, especially for the price point.

I've been using Bubblewrap for around a month now and I'm more and more impressed each time I use it. It has a lightweight texture but it's shockingly hydrating. It contains ingredients like HA, squalene, blueberry extract, and avocado oil to plump, smooth, and make the eye area appear more open and awake. I use half a pump between both of my eyes because it definitely gives off a dewy vibe, which I'm still getting used to. It wears nicely underneath concealer for me, and I haven't had any problems with pilling. I always forget this is a two-in-one product (you can also use this on your lips) but I haven't done that yet, nor do I plan to. All in all, I love the hydration that this adds to the under-eye area. If the price isn't an issue for you, I would definitely try this product out!


OleHenriksen Banana Bright Eye Creme (0.5 oz for $38, Sephora)

I've talked about this eye cream ad nauseam so I won't go into it in depth here, but if you're thinking about trying out a new eye cream, I would strongly consider this one. It's hydrating, immediately brightening, and is the perfect primer for makeup. It's inspired by banana powder that contains special pigments to instantly brighten and color-correct the eye area. This is my holy grail eye cream. End of story.

Fresh Vitamin Nectar Mist (8.4 oz for $44 or 3.3 oz for $25, Sephora)

I initially thought this was going to be incredibly gimmicky product that was overhyped and didn't actually do anything for your skin. I was 1000% wrong. I bring this bottle to the beach with me when I need an extra boost of hydration. The scent is intoxicatingly light, fresh, and citrusy (😍). The spray is incredibly fine, which I normally hate, but you can actually feel the particles of this mist falling on your face. I haven't actually used it as a setting spray, which some people have done, but over minimal makeup it doesn't negatively affect my skin at all. It is definitely on the expensive side for a facial mist (imo), but catch me using antioxidant rich glow water all summer long.

Fourth Ray Mellow Milk Mist (4.15 fl oz for $8, Fourth Ray Beauty)

The problem I have with facial sprays is that they make your face feel drier than before you used them (*cough* Mario Badescu sprays *cough*). Fourth Ray really solved that pet peeve of mine with this mist. It boasts ingredients like white tea, chamomile, oat milk, and more to sooth and hydrate. And don't even get me started on how cooling/calming it feels after it's been in the fridge for a few minutes. I use this during my skincare routine, and just randomly during the day when I remember lol. If you're looking for a more affordable facial mist, I would absolutely recommend this one!


There is nothing like coming home after a long day in the sun, and putting on a hydrating face mask (after first putting it in the fridge to amplify that cooling effect of course). Farmacy really nailed it with this mask. I've said it before and I'll say it again, it's hydrating, fits my face perfectly, and has a good amount of serum in the package. My skin is left feeling supple and incredibly soft. I seriously buy these in bulk because I can't get enough.



Glosiser Balm Dot Com (0.5 fl oz for $12, Glossier)

You're going to need a good lip balm for this balmy summer heat. Glossier's Balm Dot Com is continually a favorite of mine. The only shade I haven't tried is rose. I recommend picking up Mango to channel summertime all season long. I also like to use a little of this wherever I have random dry spots and it works wonders.


Sunscreen (The Big Guns):

Glossier Invisible Shield (1 fl oz for $25, Glossier, SPF 35)

This was the very first sunscreen that I tried that didn't leave a white cast. It has a lightweight gel formula that absorbs incredibly quickly. It's slightly hydrating, but also slightly blurs your pores? Wild. It wears really well underneath other products. My only qualm with this product is the size. I tend to run out of this very quickly. I wish there was more product because I like to lather my face in sunscreen. As we should all be doing.

Supergoop Unseen Sunscreen (1.7 oz for $32, Sephora, SPF 40)

Another sunscreen that's part of Team #nowhitecast. It also has one of the highest sun protection factors than the other face sunscreens that I use. I love that it can also be used as a primer for makeup. It's lightweight and doesn't make me look oily at the end of the day. The one criticism I often hear is that it feels very silicone-y, and if that's a deal breaker for you than I wouldn't try this!

Supergoop Glow Stick (1 oz for $25, Sephora, SPF 50)

This product is seriously revolutionary. I use this when I don't plan on wearing makeup during the day, and it gives off such a healthy glow that makes me look almost sun-kissed. I always think that after a while I'll look like an oily mess, but so far that hasn't happened? This product is in stick form, so I consider it travel-friendly. I often have this in my bag for when I need to reapply. I have also used this on top of Unseen as a highlighter for the high points of my face. Love love love love love. Definitely worth a try.

Supergoop Defense Refresh Setting Mist (3.4 oz for $28, Sephora, SPF 50)

This product is to be used as a final step in your makeup routine, and to easily reapply sunscreen over a full face of makeup. I don't use it often, only when I'm wearing makeup and plan on being in the sun, but it doesn't make my makeup run after applying. Would recommend grabbing if you are bad at reapplying and need an easy solution!


Black Girl Sunscreen (3 oz for $18.99, Target or Black Girl Sunscreen, SPF 30)

Another Team #nowhitecast sunscreen. I love that this product was made with people of color in mind. I use this on my face and body because it's moisturizing and absorbs really nicely, leaving a healthy glow. I just got the Kids' formula that I plan on slathering all over my daughter anytime before we leave the house. Plus I'm all over supporting black businesses 🙌🏾!


Elta MD UV Clear Broad Spectrum 46 (1.7 oz for $35, Amazon or Dermstore, SPF 46)

This is the newest sunscreen in my arsenal, and it's intended to protect acne-prone and sensitive skin. Another lightweight formula that leaves no white cast and is fragrance-free. I've only used it a few times but it doesn't clog my pores or make me oilier than usual. I bought this off a recommendation of many of my skincare beauties (Funmi @skincaregoalsAF, Crystal @crystallaurenskin, Abiola @skinwithabiola, and I'm sure so many more) and they haven't steered me wrong yet.

Murad Invisiblur (1 oz for $65 or 0.33 oz for $19, Sephora, SPF 30)

The first time I tried this product I was at the Sephora in Aventura Mall and they must have been having a Murad-sponsored event because this man came up to me and asked me what primer I use on my face. I thought he was a hopeless boyfriend/husband-type and was asking my opinion for his significant other, so I told him: Peter Thomas Roth, Skin to Die For. Which is one of my favorite primers, FYI. This man proceeded to DRAG ME, talking 'bout how PTR is trash and let him show me the correct way to prime your face for flawless makeup application. I was low-key annoyed (bc how dare he?) but I followed him nonetheless to the wall of Murad products where he proceeded to change my life. The Invisiblur is a colorless, scentless primer with SPF that instantly gives your skin an airbrushed, velvet-like finish. It also has peony flower and black currant extracts to help even skin tone, while also protecting your skin against the sun. I, of course, proceeded to buy the $65 bottle, because they were giving out a free gift bag of all types of Murad goodies with a $50 purchase. I haven't looked back. It's pricey but I guarantee you will love how blurred your skin looks even before makeup application with this product.


Neutrogena Hydroboost Sunscreen Lotion (3 oz for $7.99, Target or Amazon, SPF 30 or 50)

A budget friendly sunscreen option for the girls. This sunscreen is amazing. I've been using it for months now and just bought a backup because I know I'm going to run out soon. It's hydrating like the rest of Neutrogena's Hydroboost line, absorbs quickly, and doesn't make me look greasy. The trifecta. Plus it comes in two protection factor options. I also use this on my upper body with no problems!

Krave Beauty The Beet Shield (1.69 fl oz for $20, Krave Beauty, SPF 50)

This is one of the lighter sunscreen formulas that I use in my collection. It almost has a serum-like feel to it. But it absorbs quickly, doesn't have a strong scent, and has a high protection factor. This sunscreen is currently sold out on their website, but the next time it gets restocked I would definitely hop on it!


Makeup:

OleHenriksen Banana Bright Primer (1 oz for $36, Sephora)

This is my ideal summer primer. It gives you that lit from within glow that we all love, blurs pores, brightens your dull skin, and is hydrating to boot. I have always been a matte primer girl, so this was something totally new for me. My skin has been living for all of the hydration I've been showering it with lately, and this is definitely another hydrating product that I'll keep in my arsenal. It wears beautifully with makeup, but honestly I love it's illuminating properties so much that I prime with this and then spot conceal some dark marks, and dassss it. It's definitely a little bit on the expensive side, but you thankfully don't need a lot of product to cover your face.


Supergoop Shimmershade Illuminating Cream Eyeshadow (0.18 oz for $24, Sephora, SPF 30)

Your eyelids are sensitive to sunburn, and Supergoop is here to save the day. These shadows are incredibly pigmented, long-lasting, crease-resistant, and universally flattering to brighten your eyes. They can be used alone, which I tend to do on lazy days when I want to pretend that I've tried, or used as primer before another shadow. They can also be built up to maximum pigmentation if you so desire. The formula is mousse-like, and so easy to apply. It comes in three shades all with names inspired to mimic the sun at different times of the day; First Light, Golden Hour, and Sunset.

Sol De Janeiro Glowmotion Glow Oil (2.5 oz for $35, Sephora)

This glow oil has the standard Bum Bum scent (which weirdly for me is sometimes heavenly and sometimes off-putting). The oil comes out in a convenient pump, goes on smooth, doesn't feel sticky, and doesn't transfer (or not that I've noticed) on any clothing. It also doesn't have huge chunks of glitter in it, instead it looks like you have a natural sun-kissed sheen to ya. It comes in 5 beautiful shades to complement a multitude of skin tones. I first lathered myself in this product on my birthday when I was at a hotel pool party in Miami Beach. I even got in the pool and this stuff didn't rub off, so I'd say it's got waterproof-like properties to it. I'll definitely be slathering this on all summer long 😎.

Loreal True Match Lumi Glotion (1.35 oz for ~$10, Ulta/Target/Amazon)

I've been using this product for almost a year to give me that natural glow on the high points of my face. I also use it mixed in with my Bareminerals Tinted Moisturizer to have an all over glowy base. It hasn't broken me out at all, and for the price point I would definitely buy this again. It also comes in 3 other shades, and I used the darkest shade, Deep.


Fenty Beauty Gloss Bomb (0.3 oz for $18, Sephora)

Do I even have to go into this? Buy it. Buy all three shades. Buy backups. You're welcome.


Fenty Beauty Concealer (0.27 oz for $26, Sephora)

Also something I won't go into absolute depth about, I've written an extensive blog post about it and you can read about it here. But know that this will be the concealer I'll have on for especially hot days.


ohii Beauty Lip Smudge (0.07 oz for $16, Urban Outfitters)

I'm really enjoying these lip stains! They give off a nice wash of color with the blotted effect, and the four shades available are perfect for summer. I have Cerise, a bold-red, and Smolder, a bright orange hue. They are moisturizing, but they're not very long lasting. They have a bit of a waxy texture, but it doesn't bother me at all. Make sure you exfoliate your lips before or they have a tendency to show all the cracks and creases which is no fun. Most people have been comparing this to Glossier's Gen G lipsticks which I have never tried, so I can't say anything on that.


Bite Beauty Outburst Longwear Lip Stain (0.07 oz for $24, Sephora)

As much as I enjoy the ohii Lip Smudges, these Bite lip stains are where it's at. The three shades are GORGEOUS (especially on WOC, imo). They feel so hydrating, and they almost have a glossy consistency when you're applying it but then it dries down to a more natural matte finish. And they are incredibly pigmented and so long-wearing. They're almost a pain to remove. I use a micellar water that's for waterproof makeup and that usually does the trick. I usually apply a thin layer of the Agave Lip Mask underneath this just for that extra hydration. I love that I don't have to reapply this stain at all during the day, and at the end of the day it still looks as amazing as when I put it on.


Colourpop Cosmetics Ultra Blotted Lip (0.10 oz for $7, Colourpop)

I just feel like lip stains and blotted lips are the way to go in the summer. You can put them on and don't have to worry about reapplying every hour like you would a traditional lipstick. I'm a fan of Colourpop's Ultra Blotted Lip formula, other than the fact that they're a little bit drying on the lips. Just add a little lip balm before application and that should do the trick. All of the shades that I've tried are pigmented and long-lasting. My two favorite shades are Cherry on Top (a deep cherry hue) and Split (a fuschia) that I use all the time. They have a variety of shades to choose from and even just dropped 5 new ones this week!


Bareminerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Moisturizer (1.18 oz for $32, Sephora or Ulta, SPF 30)

This is my favorite no makeup-makeup "foundation". It's a lightweight gel cream that blends seamlessly with just your fingers. I don't often lean towards tinted moisturizers or BB/CC creams because I have hyperpigmentation and acne scars that I'm always trying to hide. This formula covers a lot more than I anticipated. It instantly makes my skin look more luminous, and naturally so. This formula also has SPF 30 in it which is a nice bonus. I use the shade Sienna for reference.


Bareminerals Complexion Rescue Stick (0.35 oz for $32, Sephora or Ulta, SPF 25)

A recent addition to the Complexion Rescue line! This is a water-based foundation in stick form with medium buildable coverage. The finish is natural and the consistency is creamy and easy to blend out (I tend to use my fingers). I love taking this with me on the go and it gives me a little more coverage than my tinted moisturizer. It's made with 30% enhanced mineral water so when you swipe it over your face feels like a literal stick of water. It's incredibly refreshing. I use the shade Sienna in this formula as well. This complements really nicely with the tinted moisturizer.


Glossier Haloscope (0.19 oz for $22, Glossier)

This was the very first product I ever bought from Glossier and I still buy it to this day. My two favorites are Topaz and Moonstone. I just love the simplicity of the product. You just glide it. on a bare face, tap, and go. The shades are gorgeous, shiny but not too overpowering. Perfect for everyday wear.



Have you all tried any of these products? Think you'll try any of them after reading my recs? Please let me know!!

xx



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page