top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

Top 5: Black Owned in Skincare

I've been on my black-owned skincare game (as we all should be), and I'm about ready to share my absolute favorite products (and even some honorable mentions) that should definitely be on your radar. All of these products were created for us, by us. It just so happens that I have a cleanser, a toner, a serum, a moisturizer, and a sunscreen on this list. The ultimate starter skincare routine. You're welcome 😎.


BeautyStat Universal Pro-Bio Moisture Boost Cream (1 oz for $50, available at BeautyStat or Violet Grey)

I tried a sample of this moisturizer when I received the brand's Universal C Skin Refiner and immediately fell in love. This baby is light-as-air and sinks into your skin like silk. It's stacked with hyaluronic acid and ceramides to keep your skin at an optimum moisture level all day long. I have oily/acne-prone skin and I live in Miami where humidity is constant, so lightweight moisturizers are my go-to pretty much year round. If you have drier skin, I would definitely add a drop or two of your favorite facial oil if you feel like it's necessary. This moisturizer is definitely on the pricier side, but I promise it is worth your coin.


Black Girl Sunscreen SPF 30 (3 fl oz for $19, available at Black Girl Sunscreen and Target)

If you haven't purchased Black Girl Sunscreen yet, I literally have no idea what you're waiting on. This is every black girl's dream sunscreen, for every single skin type. It's hyper-moisturizing, but doesn't leave your skin looking like an oil slick. It's formula includes black-girl skin-loving ingredients like jojoba, avocado, sunflower oil, carrot juice, and more. I've been through at least 4 tubes of it myself, 2 tubes of Black Girl Sunscreen Kids (!!) for my daughter, and I make it a point to put all of my friends on. i love that you can find a tube on your next Target runs (at select Targets). BGS makes wearing sunscreen like a luxurious experience, without making it feel less like a boring necessity. Although don't get me wrong, wearing sunscreen is a necessity. And please reapply.


epi.logic Even Balance CoQ10 Toner (4 fl oz for $40, available at Brooklyn Face & Eye)

The Skin Doll @seangarette introduced me to this gem of a product, to replace my beloved I*die L*e CoQ10 toner. My new motto is: if it can be replaced by a black-owned brand, we're replacing it. This is a gentle and hydrating toner with aloe, hyaluronic acid, CoQ10 and chamomile extract to soothe, purify, and calm your complexion. CoQ10 protects against environmental stressors, and it's a lovely addition to my skincare routine. It protects my moisture barrier, especially when I have to be wearing a mask for an extended period of time which makes me more susceptible to maskne. It took me a while to get my hands on this and I'm already eyeing a backup, along with some more epi.logic products.


I truly resonate with the founder of Hyper Skin, Desiree, who created this serum after months of breakouts while she was pregnant with her first child. I had to get my hands on this serum solely after reading the incredible ingredient list. It took about a month to ship (and I believe they're still on backorder--KTSE!!!) It's packed with 15% vitamin c, fruit enzymes, turmeric, and kojic acid to attack hyperpigmentation and lighten stubborn dark spots for clearer, cleaner, skin. It's an unscented gel that has no problem playing nicely with other skincare products. I've noticed a drastic difference in some stubborn hyperpigmentation around my chin area after using this consistently for three weeks. I'll share a before and after around the 8 week mark (or when I finish the bottle, tbh). All in all, a killer vitamin c serum that you should definitely add to your list.


Klur Gentle Matter Daily Moisture Cleanser (2 fl oz for $22, available at Klur)

Cleansing is low-key my favorite skincare step. Klur has managed to make it high-key my favorite skincare step. It's a refreshing, non-foaming gel that gently cleanses even the most sensitive of skin types. It's made up of a soothing blend of antioxidants, botanicals, and mild resurfacing ingredients to gently exfoliate while clearing clogged pores. My skin feels incredibly soft after use, and I can confidently say that after trying 10+ cleansers in the last 3 months, this is hands down my favorite. Klur's entire aesthetic is what drew me in, but their products are 1000% worth it. I just recently ordered the Immersion and the Symmetry Fluid and I can't wait to integrate them into my routine.



Honorable Mentions:


Fenty Skin Hydra Visor Invisible Moisturizer + SPF (1.7 fl oz for $35, available at Fenty Skin)

You can read my full Fenty Skin review here.

Beneath Your Mask Remedy Conditioning Lip Balm (0.3 fl oz for $22, available at Beneath Your Mask)

This lip treatment repairs and treats your lips with potent oils including moringa, cocoa, babassu, and shea. It glides on like a balm, acts like a moisturizer, and treats like an overnight mask. Plus the aesthetically pleasing aluminum black tube is drool worthy. I've tried countless amounts of lip balms--you can say I'm a lip balm aficionado, and this one is definitely top 3. I've already repurchased a few more tubes because I can't be without it.


Rosen Tropics Toner (4 oz for $18, available at Rosen)

I've only been using this toner for a week or so, but I'm a fan of Rosen as a brand in general, so I'm expecting great things from this one. This is another product that got me with the ingredients: hyaluronic and kojic acids, and pineapple extract to hydrate your skin & fade hyperpigmentation. The texture of this toner is thiccer than I expected but I'm not mad at it.


Pro tip: Do yourself a favor and add your email to all of the waiting lists for products that are backordered or out of stock. Remember that all of these incredible brands (for the most part) are small businesses, who have had an incredible influx of orders over the past few months. Be patient, you'll get yours! And if any of these products are currently in stock, I highly suggest you grab them before they're not 😉.


xx,

Danielle




Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page