top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

Top Products of 2018

It's already the second day of 2019, but I wanted to highlight some of my most worn/favorite products of 2018 before ya'll get inundated with new product drops 🙊. Let's get itttttt:


Supergoop 100% Mineral Smooth & Poreless Matte Screen, SPF 40 ($38 for 1.5 oz)

I've gone through this a few times before, but this was my favorite sunscreen to wear under makeup this year, hands down. Although I've only had it for a few months, it became a staple really quickly. It mattifies my skin, blurs my pores, and is the perfect canvas for makeup application. I already repurchased a second tube because I'm almost done with this one. And we all know how important sunscreen is, can't go a day without it. A sunscreen that doubles as a primer? A win win.


OleHenriksen Banana Bright Eye Cream ($38 for 0.5 oz)

I've said it before and I'll say it again: I think eye creams are a crock of SHIT. But by some weird impulse I decided to buy the Banana Bright Eye Cream and I have not looked back. It's rich in Vitamin C, smells amazing, adds immediate radiance to the undereye area, and is the perfect primer for concealer. Ya girl has tired looking eyes most days, and when I apply this in the morning I look more like a member of society.


BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 30 ($30 for 1.18 oz)

This is my favorite no makeup-makeup "foundation". It's a lightweight gel cream that blends seamlessly with just your fingers. I don't often lean towards tinted moisturizers or BB/CC creams because I have hyperpigmentation and acne scars that I'm always trying to hide. This formula covers a lot more than I anticipated. It instantly makes my skin look more luminous, and naturally so. This formula also has SPF in it which is a nice bonus. The only thing that's bogus about this product is the shade range. I wear the darkest shade in the range, Sienna 10. Hopefully they'll expand the shade range, because it's such a nice product.


Fenty Beauty Diamond Bomb All Over Diamond Veil ($38 for 0.28 oz)

Whew chile. Where to even start with this magical product. Once again, Fenty wins. This "highlighter" is light, airy, buttery, and packs a punch of diamond-y goodness around your face, eyes, body, wherever. I cannot get enough of this stuff. It's a super finely milled glitter, and it makes you look like an ice queen, in the best way. I like wearing this on special occasions but also on ordinary days when I wanna be ~extra~. Take my word for it, you should definitely try this product.


Glossier Haloscope in Moonstone ($22 for 0.19 oz)

Glossier definitely had me wrapped around their little finger at the beginning of this year. I couldn't stop ordering from their website. I've accumulated way more pink pouches then I care to admit. But then I tried their skincare and came to the realization that it's straight trash and they should just stick to *cough* overpriced *cough* makeup. I will not deny that I really enjoy Haloscope. I have two shades, Moonstone and Topaz, and Moonstone quickly became one of my favorite highlighters this year. This silvery color gives you that dewy, glazed donut type sparkle that everyone (including myself) strives for. I only wear it on no-makeup-makeup days, because this stuff does not work over a full face of foundation/concealer/whateva. So don't even try it. But if you're going for the subtle, minimalist beauty queen look, this (and Glossier in general) is for you.


Flesh Beauty Touch Flesh Highlighting Balm in Startle ($18 for 0.13 oz)

I went through a phase early this year where I gravitated towards silver highlights, which is very different for me. I wanted to try Flesh Beauty as soon as they dropped, and I didn't want to start with the foundation stick which could have been hit or miss. So I ordered two of their highlighting balms, in Startle and Squeeze (I still had to pick up a bronze color 😏). The consistency of the balms are so nice, and they give off a natural sheen that can be built up to I'd say medium shine. Compared to Glossier's Haloscope, I think these have them beat. Haloscope is definitely more for days where you want to pretend you woke up with a glossy look, but the Flesh balms look like you put in more effort. They are stunning and I will certainly repurchase these when I'm out. Plus, I'm a sucker for grab-n-go products.


Hourglass Caution Extreme Lash Mascara ($14 for 0.19 oz or $29 for 0.33 oz)

I got a trial of this with a Sephora order after it first dropped and this has been my favorite mascara since August. I've barely used anything else (other than Benefit's Bad Gal Bang). The only thing I could really compare it to were Too Faced's Better than Sex and Loreal's Voluminous Lash Paradise, which were the two that I had been using previously. Better than Sex to me is a higher quality Lash Paradise, but I like how they both look on my lashes. When I tried Hourglass for the first time, I was soOoOoOo impressed. It added dramatic length and volume with just one coat (and I don't curl my lashes first, mind you), it didn't clump, and it dried pretty quickly so when I inevitably rubbed my eyes a few minutes later, it wasn't a smudgy mess. And Hourglass's packaging is top notch. I already have a backup. So yeah, I love it.


Bite Beauty French Press Gloss ($22 for .15 oz)

These are the glosses that made me fall in love with glosses again (and Fenty Gloss Bomb of course). They come in 6 nude shades that are surprisingly pigmented, and smell deliciously of coffee. Perfect for when you're getting ready in the morning. Or all throughout the day, TBH. My favorite shades are Dirty Chai, described as a terracotta rose, French Press, a warm brown, and Black Coffee, a deep plum-brown. These are the shades that I can wear by themselves. The lighter three colors I can wear with a brown lip liner and they work for me. I sent them to my sister, gave them to my mom, sent them to my friends, just because I can't get enough of these and want everyone to share in my excitement. They're limited edition so pick up a shade while you can! And while you're at it, buy backups for your backups.


Fenty Beauty Universal Gloss Bomb ($18)

There are few glosses that everyone, I'm talking EVERY 👏🏾 ONE 👏🏾 can pull off and look incredible. Gloss Bomb is that chick. Do yourself a favor and buy one. Buy all three. And if you already have, buy some more. Not sticky, smells lovely, and the applicator makes it feel super luxe when you're applying it. I haven't tried Fu$$y yet, but it's absolutely next on my list.


Mented Cosmetics Semi-Matte Lipstick in Nude La La ($16.50)

I had been waiting to try Mented for a long time as their business philosophy just speaks to me. Makeup for women of color, created by women of color. Not many companies can boast those two characteristics, so it was a no-brainer for me. Just had to wait til I had the funding

😅. But once I did, IT WAS OVER FOR YOU HEAUXS. I ordered the semi-matte lipsticks in Nude La La and Dark Night which have quickly become nude staples for me. Nude La La is my favorite because it's a cool mix between brown and pink that makes my lips look natural. That doesn't happen to me very often, having two different toned lips. I have a ton of "nude" lipsticks that pull more purple or even orange, which ain't cute. Mented also has red lipsticks, a myriad of lipglosses, and eyeshadow palettes that I'm dying to try. We truly stan a company that has the best interest at heart for women that look like I do. Check them out!


I tried a lot of products in 2018, and there are so many other favorites that I didn't mention. Here's to hoping that 2019 brings some new favorites. Thanks for reading! Do me a favor, if you read my blog and follow me on Insta, let me know!! Would love to shout you out. @miamibeautyvice 🥰

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page