top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle

Urban Decay Stay Naked Foundation Review

Influenster kindly sent me the *new* Urban Decay Stay Naked Weightless Liquid Foundation. It's available in 50 shades with 9 intensities, 3 mastertones, and 7 undertones to make it easy to find your perfect match. We stan inclusivity in the industry in this day and age. I have no idea what the heck a mastertone is, but I'm about it. It is considered a buildable medium foundation with a "real-skin" matte finish. The bottle is like a heavy plastic with a bronze-gold cap, and it's definitely aesthetically pleasing on my vanity.


I'm gonna be honest, I'm kind of a foundation snob, and I'm reluctant to try new ones. Ya girl still wears BareMinerals from high school. Fenty Pro Filt'r was the last foundation that I adopted into my arsenal, mostly because I stan Rihanna, but also because what she did was so iconic. However, I think I've been hit by the foundation bug. There so many recent drops that I want to try, i.e. Fenty's Hydrating Foundation, Milk Makeup's new stick foundation, Aunty Pat's new foundation, and even ABH's new foundation.


I was sent two shades: 80WO which is described as a deep warm with peachy undertones and 90WO which is described as ultra-deep warm with peachy undertones. I did a swatch test, and neither of them is a perfect match, unfortunately. I'm definitely somewhere between the both of them because ~summer~ but I think in the later months I'll be closer to 80WO.




Wear Test:

(Note: I have oily, acne-prone skin, with some slight hyperpigmentation, so I'm definitely checking how mattifying this foundation is, if there's any creasing during the day, and how well it covers my dark spots).


I decided to test the limits of this foundation on the weekend when I had to trek my kid to a birthday party at Butterfly World, go grocery shopping, visit with my mom, and then meet a couple friends for drinks.


I primed my skin as I would with any foundation, with Ole Henriksen's Banana Bright Primer. I added one pump of 80WO and half a pump of 90WO to the back of my hand, and used Sonia Kashuk's Flat Top Foundation Brush to buff into the skin followed by my Real Techniques sponge to get that smooth blend. First impression--this foundation literally felt like nothing. Some foundations feel super heavy, and it's obvious that you're putting foundation on your skin. Somehow, this didn't feel like that at all. Which is incredible, considering the humidity I have to put up with on a daily basis. The consistency is very thin, so I was actually shocked when it actually built up to the coverage that I wanted. It didn't apply patchy at all, and it definitely dries down to a healthy looking natural-matte. I have a breakout near the side of my eyes (I definitely have to wash my highlighter brush), and this foundation doesn't overly emphasize the texture. I added a little Glossier Cloud Paint in Dawn (my new obsession) and Kevyn Aucoin's Glass Glow Highlighter in Spectrum Bronze, and a little Supergoop Shimmershade in Sunset to complete the lewk.


^^ This is around 3 hours after application, at Butterfly World with my kid where it was easily 95 degrees out. Ya girl was SWEATING, but you can't even really tell!


Overall thoughts: I am low-key obsessed with how this feels on the skin. It's thin and lightweight but also long-wearing. The coverage is beautiful. It covered all my dark spots and evened out the tone of my entire face with a pump and a half, which isn't too bad. Depending on what I'm doing during the day, sometimes I'll go in with two full pumps. It also actually kept me at a natural matte finish throughout the whole day. It is not transfer-proof, however, like it claims to be. I think the drugstore dupe of this foundation would be Loreal's Infallible Fresh Wear, which is one of my favorites coverage-wise and price-wise, but makes me look like an oil slick after around 4 hours, even with setting powder. If you have normal or dry skin I would say definitely prime your skin with a more hydrating primer. Milk's Hydrogrip Primer is a recent favorite of mine. The OH Banana Bright Primer worked perfectly for me, and also adds an extra layer of glow.


Hope this is helpful in deciding whether or not you're going to try this foundation!!


xx

Danielle

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page